Team India has had a topsy-turvy ride in the T20 World Cup since its inception in 2007. Led by MS Dhoni, the Indian cricket team won the title in the inaugural edition but has failed to recapture the title since. India came close in the 2014 edition but were outperformed by Sri Lanka in the final.

Rohit Sharma, the Indian captain for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, has featured in all eight editions of the tournament and has also made the most appearances for India at the T20 World Cup, featuring in 42 games. He is also second on the list of top run-getters for India in the T20 World Cup

Rohit claimed the top spot after playing in India’s thrilling victory over Ireland in their first match of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2024. He also broke the record for the overall most appearances in the T20 World Cup, previously held by Tillakaratne Dilshan, who made 35 appearances. The Indian captain broke Dilshan's record against South Africa in Perth on October 30, 2022.

MS Dhoni previously held the record for most appearances for India in the T20 World Cup. Dhoni featured in 33 matches between 2007 and 2016, scoring 529 runs at an average of 35.26.

Yuvraj Singh is third on the list, having played 31 matches in the T20 World Cup for the Indian team. The stylish all-rounder smashed 593 runs and scalped 12 wickets in six editions of the tournament.

Virat Kohli, the top run-getter in T20 World Cup history, has featured in 29 matches. Kohli has been an ever-present in the team since 2012 and led the Indian team in the 2021 edition.

Meanwhile, Suresh Raina is the joint fourth-most capped player for India in the T20 World Cup with 26 games. He scored the first century by an Indian player in the tournament, vs South Africa in 2010, and remains the only Indian player to achieve the feat to date.

Following Raina is the off-spinning all-rounder, Ravichandran Ashwin. He is the leading wicket-taker for India in the T20 World Cup and has played 24 matches. 

Ravindra Jadeja, who missed the ticket for the T20 World Cup 2022 due to an injury, is seventh on the list. Jadeja featured in every edition between 2009 and 2021 and picked 21 wickets in 24 games, making him the second-highest wicket-taker for India in the T20 World Cup. Know cricketers who has played most matches for India in T20 World Cup history.

Most matches for India in T20 World Cup history




Rohit Sharma



MS Dhoni



Yuvraj Singh



Virat Kohli



Suresh Raina



Ravindra Jadeja



Ravichandran Ashwin

 2012-2022 24

Gautam Gambhir



Harbhajan Singh



Hardik Pandya



Photo credit: Dibyangshu SARKAR / AFP