Suresh Raina was the first Indian to score a century in T20I internationals. Since then, six other Indian cricketers have joined the elite list.

Former captain Virat Kohli is the latest Indian cricketer to score a century in T20 internationals. The swashbuckling batter smashed a scintillating hundred against Afghanistan during an Asia Cup 2022 Super Four clash in Dubai to register India's highest individual T20I score

As many as 10 individual centuries have been recorded by Indians in T20I format - the most by any nation. Here are the seven Indians to score a century in T20I internationals.

Suresh Raina 

Former cricketer Suresh Raina was the first Indian to score a century in T20 Internationals. The flamboyant southpaw registered India’s maiden ton when he scored 101 runs off just 60 balls against South Africa during an ICC T20 World Cup encounter in May 2010. Raina’s brilliant hundred powered India to 186/5 in their allotted 20 overs before restricting the Proteas to 172/5 in their 20 overs to secure a 14-run victory.

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma became just the second Indian cricketer to register a hundred in T20 internationals during South Africa’s tour of India in 2015. Rohit Sharma smashed 106 runs off just 66 balls in the first T20 international of the series in Dharamsala. Rohit’s blitzkrieg knock followed by Virat Kohli’s 43 off 27 balls helped India post 199/5 in their 20 overs. However, South Africa chased down the target in 19.4 overs.

Interestingly, Rohit Sharma is the only Indian to score four hundreds in T20 Internationals. The Indian cricket team captain slammed 118 off just 43 balls, striking at a staggering strike rate of 274.41 against Sri Lanka in the second T20I in Indore in December 2017. Rohit’s impressive ton powered India to 260/5 before bowling out Sri Lanka for 172 in 17.2 overs.

The Hitman recorded his third T20I century during the West Indies tour of India in 2018. Opening the batting, Rohit scored an unbeaten 111-run knock off just 61 balls to help the hosts post 195/2 in their 20 overs in the second T20I in Lucknow. In reply, West Indies could only manage 124/9 as India won the match by 71 runs.

The India skipper registered his fourth T20I ton against England in Bristol in 2018. Rohit scored 100 not out off 56 balls in the third T20I of the series to help India chase 199 with seven wickets in hand and eight balls to spare.

KL Rahul

KL Rahul was the third Indian to achieve the impressive feat. Chasing a daunting target of 246 against West Indies in Lauderhill, Florida, KL Rahul smashed an unbeaten 110 off just 51 balls to almost pull off an incredible run-chase in the opening T20I of the series. India fell short by just one run as they managed 244/4 in their 20 overs.

Rahul registered his second T20I hundred against hosts England in Manchester in 2018. Batting at number three, the stylish batter scored 101 not out off just 54 balls to guide India to an eight-wicket win.

Deepak Hooda

Swashbuckling batter Deepak Hooda is the fourth name on the list of Indians to score a century in T20I internationals. During India’s tour of Ireland in 2022, Hooda notched up his maiden ton against Ireland when scored 104 off 57 balls to power India to 225/7 in their quota of 20 overs. Ireland produced a spirited run-chase but fell short by just four runs.

Suryakumar Yadav

Suryakumar Yadav is the fifth Indian male cricketer to score a century in the shortes format internationally. Chasing a huge target of 216 against England, Suryakumar Yadav played an eye-catching knock as he scored 55-ball 117 to almost help India chase down a big total. The flamboyant knock went in vain as India suffered a 17-run defeat in the third T20I in Nottingham.

Virat Kohli

India’s star batter Virat Kohli smashed his maiden T20I ton and his 71st overall against Afghanistan during an Asia Cup 2022 encounter. In a Super 4 clash, Virat slammed an unbeaten 122 off 61 balls to register the highest individual T20I score for India. Virat’s incredible hundred powered India to 212/2 in their 20 overs. In reply, Afghanistan could only manage 111/8 in their tough run-chase.

Harmanpreet Kaur

Harmanpreet Kaur is the only Indian woman cricketer and seventh overall to score a century in T20 internationals. During an ICC T20 World Cup encounter in 2018, the India women’s cricket team captain registered his maiden T20I hundred against New Zealand women in Providence. Harmanpreet Kaur’s 103 off 51 balls helped India secure a 34-run victory.

Indians to score a century in T20I internationals (Men's)

Player Runs Balls Against Ground Year
Suresh Raina 101 60 South Africa Gros Islet 2010
Rohit Sharma 106 66 South Africa Dharamsala 2015
KL Rahul 110* 51 West Indies Lauderhill 2016
Rohit Sharma 118 43 Sri Lanka Indore 2017
KL Rahul 101* 54 England Manchester 2018
Rohit Sharma 100*  56 England Bristol 2018
Rohit Sharma 111* 61 West Indies Lucknow 2018
Deepak Hooda 104 57 Ireland Dublin (Malahide) 2022
Suryakumar Yadav 117 55 England Nottingham 2022
Virat Kohli 122* 61 Afghanistan Dubai 2022

Indians to score a century in T20I internationals (Women's)

Player Runs Balls Against Ground Year
Harmanpreet Kaur 103 51 New Zealand women Providence 2018

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites

Featured photo: Ryan LIM / AFP