The record for most consecutive ODI wins for India against an opponent is held by Zimbabwe. The Chevrons have lost to India in 15 straight ODIs. 

The Indian cricket team’s last defeat against Zimbabwe came on June 3, 2010. Since then, they have gone on to win every single meeting between the teams. 

Of the 17 times the two teams have crossed paths since 2010, 13 matches have been played at Harare Sports Club, where India is currently on a 12-match winning streak in 50-over cricket.

Overall, India have won 19 of the 24 ODIs they have played at the venue. This is the most number of wins any visiting team has recorded at Harare Sports Club.

Zimbabwe feature thrice in the top five list of most consecutive ODI wins for India against an opponent, as between 2002 and 2005, the Chevrons lost 10 successive 50-over matches against the Asian powerhouse.

Before that, they had lost nine consecutive ODIs between 1983 and 1993.

On the other hand, the streak of successive 12 wins against Bangladesh, which is India's second-longest in the ODI format against any team, spanned from 1988 to 2004. It all started on October 27, 1988, when the two teams crossed swords for the first time in ODI cricket. It was a meeting that came in the Asia Cup and ended in a nine-wicket victory for India.

Coincidentally, each of India’s first four ODI matches against Bangladesh ended in nine-wicket wins for the Men in Blue. It took Bangladesh 13 attempts to register their first win over India.

They did so during the second ODI of India’s tour of Bangladesh in 2004. After electing to bat, the Bangla Tigers posted 229/9 and while it seemed like an easy chase at first glance, the likes of Mashrafe Mortaza, Tapash Baisya, Khaled Mahmud and Mohammad Rafique picked two wickets each as India were bundled for just 214.

Meanwhile, New Zealand also features in this top five list. The Kiwis lost 11 successive ODI matches against India between 1986 to 1988.

Most consecutive ODI wins for India against an opponent

Opponent Successive wins Span
Zimbabwe 15* 2010-present
Bangladesh 12 1988-2004
New Zealand 11 1986 - 1988
Zimbabwe 10 2002 - 2005
Zimbabwe 9 1983 - 1993

Featured photo: AFP / Jekesai NJIKIZANA