England cricket team star Jos Buttler and India’s Virat Kohli are the batters who jointly hold the record for most centuries in a T20 series.

Buttler recently hit his fourth century of the Indian T20 League 2022 campaign and guided Rajasthan to a seven-wicket win over Bangalore in the Qualifier 2 - a win which sealed their berth in the final.

This has been the 31-year-old’s most successful season in the high-profile T20 competition since his debut in 2016.

In the 2022 edition, Jos Buttler hit his first century against Mumbai. With 11 boundaries and five sixes, the English opener reached his ton in 68 balls as he set the tone for Rajasthan’s 23-run victory.

Buttler hit back-to-back tons against Kolkata (103) and Delhi (116) and became the second player after Shikhar Dhawan (Delhi, 2020) to achieve this feat.

Following his fourth ton in Qualifier 2 against RCB, Jos Buttler matched Virat Kohli’s record of four tons in a single Indian T20 League campaign. Furthermore, the 31-year-old Rajasthan star equalled Kohli’s total of five tons in the competition. The pair is one short of Chris Gayle’s all-time record of six centuries in the Indian T20 League.

Virat Kohli was the first cricketer to hit four tons in a single Indian T20 League season in his record-breaking 2016 season.

The first of Kohli’s four tons came against the previous Gujarat franchise team. His 63-ball unbeaten 100 went in vain as his Bangalore team lost the match by six wickets.

Virat Kohli’s next three triple-figure scores were against Pune (108*), Gujarat (109) and Punjab (113). The 2016 campaign saw the Bangalore star eventually record the most runs in a single Indian T20 League season.

The third player with most centuries in a T20 series is Michael Klinger. The former Australian cricketer slammed three hundreds in the 2015 T20 Blast campaign while representing Gloucestershire.

Klinger’s first ton in the 2015 T20 Blast came against Essex. His career-best unbeaten 126 off 68 balls propelled Gloucestershire to an eventual match-winning score of 199/4.

Michael Klinger’s next high-scores would come in a losing cause against Essex (104) and Glamorgan (104).

While Buttler, Kohli and Klinger are the top three players with most centuries in a T20 series, they are followed by 11 players who have hit two tons in a T20 competition.

Among them, the most notable is Shikhar Dhawan. The Indian cricket team opener represented Delhi in the 2020 edition of the Indian T20 League and hit consecutive T20 centuries against Chennai (101*) and Punjab (106*).

Most centuries in a T20 series

Player Team Season Competition No. of centuries
Jos Buttler Rajasthan 2022 Indian T20 League 4
Virat Kohli Bangalore 2016 Indian T20 League 4
Michael Klinger Gloucestershire 2015 T20 Blast 3
Shikhar Dhawan Delhi 2020 Indian T20 League 2
KL Rahul Punjab 2022 Indian T20 League 2

Author: William Paul

Featured photo: AFP / SAJJAD HUSSAIN