Former Bangalore captain Virat Kohli holds the record for most runs in a single Indian T20 League season. The top-order batter smashed a whopping 973 runs in 16 innings during the 2016 edition, winning his first and only Orange Cap of the competition.

During his swashbuckling tenure, Kohli hit four tons - by far the most any batsman has ever managed in a single Indian T20 League season - besides his seven fifties. He finished the season with a record average of 81.08 and a strike rate of 152.03. He is, in fact, the only player to breach the 900-runs mark in a single Indian T20 League edition.

Riding on his back, Bangalore reached the final but couldn’t break a stern Hyderabad wall as they had to settle with an eight-run defeat. Kohli’s impressive 144-run partnership for the opening wicket with Chris Gayle wasn’t enough as his team’s middle-order crumbling failed to capitalise on his efforts to win a first league title.

Kohli’s first century of the 2016 edition came in a losing cause against Team Gujarat. Batting first, the former skipper remained unbeaten at 100 off just 63 balls as his team posted 180/2. Gujarat chased down the target with three balls remaining.

The 33-year-old also scored a ton in the reverse fixture against Gujarat, while his other two came against Team Punjab and Team Pune.

During the same edition, a certain David Warner scored 848 runs that included nine half-centuries. Warner’s tally is second on the list for most runs in a single Indian T20 League season. During this time, the Aussie opener registered a solitary duck and ended the season with an average and strike rate of 60.57 and 151.42, respectively.

The top five list is completed by Hyderabad captain Kane Williamson (735 runs in 2018), Chris Gayle (733 runs in 2012) and Michael Hussey (733 runs in 2012).

Most runs in a single Indian T20 League season

Player Team Matches Runs Average 50s 100s Year
Virat Kohli Bangalore 16 973 81.08 7 4 2016
David Warner Hyderabad 17 848 60.57 9 0 2016
Kane Williamson Hyderabad 17 735 52.50 8 0 2018
Chris Gayle Bangalore 15 733 61.08 7 1 2012
Michael Hussey Chennai 17 733 52.35 6 0 2013

Featured photo: AFP / Dibyangshu Sarkar