The Indian T20 League, since its inception in 2008, has been a hotbed of pure passion. The excitement and drama it brings along every year is next to unmatchable. The league has not only created a worldwide buzz but has also proved out to be a turning point in the careers of several youngsters.

So as we approach the 13th edition of the cash-rich T20 extravaganza, it is given that we take a shift towards the batsmen, who have played a massive role in its augmentation. 

That said, let’s dive into the list of top five highest run-scorers in the history of the Indian T20 League.

  1. Shikhar Dhawan (Delhi)

Shikhar Dhawan has been a part of the league since 2008 and has played for as many as four different franchises (Delhi, Mumbai, Deccan and Hyderabad). In 158 innings, the southpaw has scored 4579 runs at an average of 33.42 and a strike rate of 124.80.

Read | Players with most hundreds in the Indian T20 League

  1. David Warner (Hyderabad)

The Australia opener has played 10 out of 12 Indian T20 League seasons, yet sits fourth in the list of the tournament’s highest run-scorers. A majority of the credit goes to his knocks from 2015, 2017 and 2019 where he ended up being the Orange Cap holder. In a mere 126 innings, Warner has accumulated 4706 runs at an average of 43.17. His figures include four tons and a whopping 44 half-centuries.

  1. Rohit Sharma (Mumbai)

The most successful captain of the Indian T20 League sits third in the list with 4898 runs from 183 innings. With only a solitary century to his name, which dates back to 2012, the Mumbai captain has scored at an average of 31.60 (the lowest in the list of five).

Read | Indian T20 League 2020: Year by year list of Orange Cap holders

  1. Suresh Raina (Chennai)

There is no denying the fact that Suresh Raina is a T20 legend. A one-team man since the beginning, Raina has accumulated 5368 runs in 189 innings at an average of 33.34. Like Rohit Sharma, the CHE southpaw too has a solitary ton to show for, but his consistency, especially during CHE's title-winning seasons, is one of the reasons why he is compared to the greats.

  1. Virat Kohli (Bangalore)

Virat Kohli had no T20 ton till 2016. That year, however, he redefined his Indian T20 League career as he went on to top-score the 2016 edition by scoring a whopping 973 runs at an average of 81.08, which included four tons and seven half-centuries. Overall, the Bangalore skipper has amassed 5412 runs in 169 innings at an average of 37.84. 

Feature image courtesy: AFP / Sajjad Hussain