The Indian cricket team will lock horns with arch-rivals Pakistan in their opening encounter of ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021 at the Dubai International Stadium on October 24.

This will be the first meeting between India and Pakistan in the shortest format since the two cricketing giants clashed in the last edition of the T20 World Cup at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata in 2016.

India and Pakistan have faced each other five times in ICC T20 World Cup tournaments, with the Men in Blue clearly dominating the rivalry with a 5-0 superiority.

The MS Dhoni-led young Indian side defeated Pakistan in the final at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg to win the inaugural edition of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2007. Interestingly, Pakistan avenged their loss by claiming the next edition of T20 World Cup by beating Sri Lanka in the final at Lord’s in 2009.

Here’s how India vs Pakistan matches panned out across all editions of the T20 World Cup till date.

ICC T20 World Cup 2007, Group stage: India beat Pakistan via bowl-out

India faced Pakistan in a Group D encounter in the first edition of T20 World Cup at Durban in 2007. Put into bat, Robin Uthappa’s fifty powered the Men in Blue to a respectable total of 141/9 in their 20 overs. In reply, Pakistan rode on Misbah-ul-Haq’s half-century to finish 141/7 in 20 overs as the match ended in a tie. The winner of the match was decided by a bowl-out where India defeated Pakistan 3-0. 

ICC T20 World Cup 2007 final: India beat Pakistan by 5 runs

The two sides once again met in the final of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in South Africa in 2007. Electing to bat first, India rode on opener Gautam Gambhir’s 54-ball 75 and Rohit Sharma’s 30 off 16 balls to post a fighting total of 157/5 in their quota of 20 overs. Pakistan looked on course to chase down the target before in-form Misbah-ul-Haq gave his wicket away while playing a ramp shot as India became inaugural champions of the T20 World Cup.

ICC T20 World Cup 2012, Super 8s: India beat Pakistan by 8 wickets

India and Pakistan locked horns in the super eight stage of ICC T20 World Cup 2012 in Colombo, Sri Lanka. Opting to bat first, Pakistan lost wickets at regular intervals as they were bundled out for 128 in 19.4 overs. In reply, Virat Kohli scored an unbeaten 78 runs off 61 balls to chase down the total with three overs to spare.

ICC T20 World Cup 2014, Super 10s: India beat Pakistan by 7 wickets

This was once again a one-sided affair as India thrashed Pakistan by seven wickets in the Super 10s of ICC T20 World Cup 2014 in Dhaka. Chasing a modest target of 131, Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina powered the Men in Blue to a comfortable victory. Earlier, Pakistan could only manage 130/7 in their quota of 20 overs.

ICC T20 World Cup 2016, Super 10s: India beat Pakistan by 6 wickets

Ahead of the mouth-watering encounter, rain played spoilsport as the match was reduced to 18 overs each. MS Dhoni won the toss and decided to field first considering the weather conditions. Pakistan batters struggled to get going on a slow Eden Gardens pitch and could only post 118/5 in 18 overs. In reply, India lost three quick wickets before Virat Kohli scored a 37-ball 55 to take India over the line.

Featured photo: ALEXANDER JOE / AFP