The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 will see top teams in the world locking horns against each other across 29 days of intense action. 

While the first phase of the tournament (October 17-22) will feature the group games, the main action will begin from the Super 12 stages scheduled between October 23 - November 8. 

The top four teams from the Super 12s stage will then progress to the semi-final before the final showdown on November 14 at Dubai International Cricket Stadium

With eight teams currently vying for the four Super 12 spots, we look at the qualification process for teams to enter the Super 12s.  

How will teams qualify for Super 12s of T20 World Cup 2021? 

The top two teams each from Group A (Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia and Sri Lanka) and Group B (Bangladesh, Oman, Papua New Guinea and Scotland) will qualify for the Super 12 of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021. 

They will join the top eight ICC Men’s T20I team ranked teams (as on the scheduled cut-off date of December 18, 2018)  - Australia, Afghanistan, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, West Indies who automatically qualified for Super 12s of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021

The first qualifier from Group A (A1) and the second qualifier from Group B (B2) will join South Africa, England, West Indies and Australia in Group 1 of Super 12s, while the second qualifier from Group A (A2) and the first qualifier from Group B (B1) will join New Zealand, India, Pakistan and Afghanistan in Group 2 of Super 12s.  

What if two or more teams are tied on equal points in the Group stages?

If two or more teams finish on an equal number of points in the group stages, the following parameters will be considered in the below-mentioned sequence: 

1) Number of wins 

2) Net run-rate 

3) Head-to-head result 

4) Original first round / Super 12 seeding

Author: Kaustubh Potdar

Featured photo: T20 World Cup / Twitter