The Indian cricket team has won the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup once in the inaugural edition in 2007. Under the captaincy of MS Dhoni, India beat Pakistan by 5 runs in the final at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg.

There have been six T20 World Cups since the tournament’s inception in 2007 and India have gotten close to getting their hands on the trophy for the second time in a couple of those editions. With that in mind, here’s a closer look at how India have fared in 20-over World Cups.

2007 ICC World T20: India become champions

MS Dhoni and co. started the tournament with a rain washout against Scotland before clinching a bowl-out win over Pakistan in the group stages to march into the Super 8s.

After a defeat against New Zealand in the Super 8s, the Men in Blue won their remaining games against England and South Africa before handing a crushing blow to Australia in the semi-final.

In the final match, India opted to bat first on a sunny morning in Johannesburg. Gautam Gambhir steered the Indian innings with a 52-ball 75 as India lost wickets at regular intervals. A late flurry from Rohit Sharma saw India reach a competitive score of 157/5 in 20 overs.

In reply, Pakistan kept losing wickets despite Imran Nazir’s initial onslaught. However, Pakistan eventually fell agonisingly short of the target by 5 runs to hand India their first and only T20 World Cup title win.

2009 ICC World T20: India suffer Super 8s exit

Unlike the first T20 World Cup, the second edition of the tournament was a rather disappointing one for India. They started the tournament well by beating Bangladesh and Ireland in Group A to qualify for the Super 8s.

However, they went on to endure a rather forgettable run in the Super 8s as they succumbed to defeats against West Indies, South Africa and England before crashing out of the tournament. Pakistan were the eventual winners of the 2009 T20 World Cup.  

2010 ICC World Twenty20: India crash out in Super 8s again

India’s 2010 T20 World Cup campaign followed a similar pattern to their journey in the 2009 edition. They won both their group encounters against South Africa and Afghanistan but failed to carry their momentum into the Super 8s once again.

Defeats against Australia, West Indies and Sri Lanka meant that they exited in the Super 8s for a second consecutive edition of the T20 World Cup. England were the winners of the 2010 edition in what was their first-ever World Cup triumph across cricket’s white-ball formats.    

2012 ICC World Twenty20: India succumb to third successive Super 8s exit

The 2012 edition of the T20 World Cup witnessed India make light work of their group stage opponents again. They registered convincing wins over Afghanistan and England in the group stage to head into the Super 8s with confidence.

Although India succumbed to a heavy loss in their first Super 8s match against Australia, they bounced back with wins over Pakistan and South Africa. However, despite being tied on points with Australia and Pakistan after three Super 8 matches, it wasn’t enough for the Men in Blue to progress due to an inferior net run rate. West Indies eventually won the 2012 edition of the T20 World Cup.

2014 ICC World Twenty20: India endure heartbreak in final

Slotted in Group 2 with four other teams for the 2014 T20 World Cup, India began with a bang as they beat the likes of Pakistan, West Indies, Bangladesh and Australia to progress to the semi-finals in buoyant fashion.

The semi-final clash against South Africa saw India chase down a target of 173 with five balls and six wickets to spare. They went on to face Sri Lanka in the final and this where their unbeaten run in the tournament came to an end as the island nation chased down a target of 131 with six wickets and 13 balls to spare.

2016 ICC World Twenty20: India crash out in semi-finals

As part of Group 2 with four more teams for the 2016 T20 World Cup, India had an underwhelming start to their campaign after losing by 47 runs to New Zealand in their opening match. The Men in Blue then recovered by registering three successive wins against Pakistan, Bangladesh and Australia to make it to the semi-finals.

They went on to face West Indies in the semi-final and fell short despite playing well. India posted 192 in the first innings, but West Indies chased down the target with three wickets and two balls in hand to qualify for the final, where they beat England to claim their second T20 World Cup.

Featured photo: Jewel Samad / AFP