Organised by Cricket Canada, Global T20 Canada is an action-packed tournament currently featuring six teams - Mississauga Panthers, Toronto Nationals, Vancouver Knights, Brampton Wolves, Montreal Tigers, and Surrey Jaguars.

The tournament was introduced to develop Canadian cricket and bring local players to the limelight, while also offering players opportunities to other associate cricketing nations.

The first-ever edition of the competition took place in 2018 in King City, Ontario. Vancouver Knights were the inaugural champions after beating West Indies B comfortably in the final.

From there, another successful edition took place in 2019 in Brampton, Ontario. It was the now-defunct Winnipeg Hawks that won the title, beating Vancouver Knights in the final.

In the 2023 edition, Montreal Tigers were crowned GT20 Canada 2023 winners after beating Surrey Jaguars in a well-fought final, winning by five wickets off the last ball of the game. 

Know Global T20 Canada winners list

Global T20 Canada winners list





Vancouver Knights

West Indies B Team


Winnipeg Hawks

Vancouver Knights


Montreal Tigers

Surrey Jaguars

Global T20 Canada 2018: Vancouver Knights

Under the leadership of Chris Gayle, Vancouver Knights clinched the first edition of Global T20 Canada in 2018.

Vancouver Knights beat West Indies B by seven wickets in the 2018 final at the Maple Leaf Cricket Club in King City, Ontario.

Earlier, the Knights stormed into the playoffs after finishing at the top of the league standings with nine points from six matches.

However, Chris Gayle’s Knights lost to West Indies B in Qualifier 1, before overcoming Winnipeg Hawks in Qualifier 2 en-route to securing their the title in the final.

Global T20 Canada 2019: Winnipeg Hawks

Winnipeg Hawks won the second edition of Global T20 Canada in 2019. Led by captain Rayad Emrit, Winnipeg Hawks dethroned defending champions Vancouver Knights in a one-over eliminator after the 2019 final ended in a tie.

Previously, Winnipeg Hawks squeezed into the playoffs after finishing fourth in the standings. 

The Hawks then beat Toronto Nationals in the Eliminator, before overcoming Brampton Wolves by seven wickets in Qualifier 2 for a spot in the final and eventual title glory.

Global T20 Canada 2023: Montreal Tigers

After a nearly four-year hiatus due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the GT20 Canada League was back for the 2023 edition held in Brampton.

GT20 Canada 2023 began with two new teams introduced in Mississauga Panthers and Surrey Jaguars, replacing Edmonton Royals and one of the past GT20 Canada winners, Winnipeg Hawks.

Montreal Tigers bagged their maiden Global T20 Canada title after beating Surrey Jaguars by five wickets in Brampton, Ontario.

Earlier, the Chris Lynn-led Tigers finished third in the standings to advance to the Global T20 Canada 2023 playoffs.

The Tigers later defeated Brampton Wolves by nine wickets in the Eliminator, before pipping Vancouver Knights by one wicket in Qualifier 2 to storm into the final and lift the trophy.

Photo credit: Alamy