Jammu and Kashmir cricketer Umran Malik is the fastest Indian bowler in world cricket.

While playing for Hyderabad in the Indian T20 League, Umran Malik bowled the fastest ball by an Indian bowler at 157kph against Delhi at the Brabourne Stadium on May 5, 2022.

Malik has consistently broken the 150kph barrier after recording speeds of 153.3kph,153.1kph, 153kph, 152.9kph, 152.6kph, 152.4kph, 152.3kph and 152kph during the 2022 edition of the Indian T20 League.

Malik has also bowled the fifth-fastest ball (154kph) in the Indian T20 League, overtaking New Zealand pacer Lockie Ferguson who clocked 153.9kph. The list is spearheaded by former Australia fast bowler Shaun Tait who had recorded a 157.71kph delivery in 2011.

Delhi pacer Mayank Yadav features second on the list of fastest Indian bowlers. Representing Team Lucknow, Yadav made his Indian T20 League debut against Team Lucknow in 2024. He recorded a 155.8kph delivery to Punjab captain Shikhar Dhawan. Mayank later produced the fastest ball of the Indian T20 League 2024 as he clocked 156.7kph against Bengaluru at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Former all-rounder Irfan Pathan is third on the list of fastest Indian bowlers. The left-arm pacer recorded a 153.7 delivery against Pakistan during the inaugural edition of the ICC T20 World Cup in 2007.

Mohammed Shami has bowled the third-fastest delivery among India's fast bowlers in world cricket. The right-arm fast bowler delivered a 153.3kph during the third Test against Australia in Melbourne in 2014. Shami was the standout bowler in the series as he picked 15 wickets in three Tests at an average of 35.80.

Speedster Jasprit Bumrah is fourth on the list of fastest Indian bowlers. Bumrah clocked 153.26kph during the first Test against Australia in Adelaide in 2018. Bumrah was the wrecker-in-chief for the Indian cricket team in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy as he bagged 21 wickets in four matches at an impressive average of 17.

Navdeep Saini completes the top five list of fastest Indian bowlers in world cricket. Saini recorded a 152.85kph delivery during the 2019 edition of the Indian T20 League. 

Interestingly, unofficial reports claim Javagal Srinath breached the 157kph mark during India’s tour of South Africa in 1996. However, the delivery hasn’t made it to the official list as the speed gun levels weren't as accurate.

The likes of Ishant Sharma, Varun Aaron and Umesh Yadav have also breached 152kph in international cricket.

Fastest Indian bowlers

Bowler Fastest ball  Against Year
Umran Malik 157kph Delhi 2022
Mayank Yadav 156.7kph Bengaluru 2024
Umran Malik 156kph Delhi 2022
Umran Malik 156kph Sri Lanka 2023
Mayank Yadav 155.8kph Punjab 2024
Umran Malik 155kph Sri Lanka 2023
Umran Malik 154kph Chennai 2022
Mayank Yadav 153.9kph Punjab 2024
Irfan Pathan 153.7kph Pakistan 2007
Mohammed Shami 153.3kph Australia 2014
Jasprit Bumrah 153.26kph Australia 2018
Navdeep Saini 152.85kph Mumbai 2019
Ishant Sharma 152.6kph Australia 2008
Umesh Yadav 152.5kph Sri Lanka 2012
Varun Aaron 152.5kph Sri Lanka 2014

Featured photo: Indian T20 League