The Indian T20 League has witnessed plenty of stunning batting performances where batters have gone berserk and given their respective teams a solid foundation to win games.

Scoring runs quickly has always been the name of the game in T20 cricket and it is no different in the ultra-competitive environment that the Indian T20 League has to offer.

Over the years, the Indian T20 League has given us plenty of memorable knocks by batters who scored their runs in the blink of an eye.

The batting-friendly tracks in India tend to aid batters when it comes to scoring runs quickly and as a result, it comes as no surprise that players go on to get their personal milestones without wasting many balls or spending too much time at the crease.

There have been plenty of blitzkrieg knocks in the Indian T20 League since its inception in 2008. Numerous batters have gone on to achieve some of their fastest fifties and hundreds in T20 cricket in the Indian T20 League. However, here we have a look at the fastest centuries in Indian T20 League.

West Indies legend Chris Gayle holds the record for scoring the fastest hundred in Indian T20  League. Let’s have a closer look at Gayles’ and the other fastest centurions in the Indian T20 League.

Fastest centuries in Indian T20 League

Player Runs Balls Opposition Balls for hundred Year
Chris Gayle (Bangalore) 175* 66 Pune 30 2013
Yusuf Pathan (Rajasthan) 100 37 Mumbai 37 2010
David Miller (Punjab) 101* 38 Bangalore 38 2013
Adam Gilchrist (Deccan) 109* 47 Mumbai  42 2008
AB de Villiers (Bangalore) 129* 52 Gujarat 43 2016

Chris Gayle vs Pune, 2013

As mentioned above, West Indies legend Chris Gayle holds the record for scoring the fastest century in the Indian T20 League. He achieved this feat in the match where he registered the highest individual score in the Indian T20 League. Up against Team Pune in Indian T20 League 2023, Bangalore’s Gayle went on a rampage, smashing 17 sixes and 13 fours en route to an unbeaten 175 off just 66 balls. He brought up his hundred in just 30 balls and helped Bangalore post 263/5 on the scoreboard. Bangalore went on to win the game by 130 runs and Gayle was adjudged Player of the Match.

Yusuf Pathan vs Mumbai, 2010

Among Indian players, former all-rounder Yusuf Pathan holds the record for the fastest century in the Indian T20 League. The hard-hitting right-hander got to this record while representing Rajasthan against Mumbai in the 2010 edition of the Indian T20 League. Chasing a target of 213, Yusuf Pathan was a man on a mission and took just 37 balls to score his hundred. He ended up hitting nine fours and eight sixes and was unfortunately run out just after reaching triple digits. His dismissal meant that Rajasthan ended up losing the match by four runs as his century went in vain.

David Miller vs Bangalore, 2013

South African David Miller is third on the list for scoring the fastest century in the Indian T20 League. While representing Punjab against Bangalore in the 2013 edition of the league, Miller’s side had to chase down a formidable target of 191. However, the South African produced a stunning knock to make light work of the target. He scored an unbeaten 101 to help Punjab win the match in 18 overs with six wickets to spare. Miller struck eight fours and seven sixes on his way to a century, which he scored in just 38 balls.

Photo credit: Alamy