The Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) is the country’s premier T20 cricket tournament, organised by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB), who are the sport's governing body in the country.

Formed in 2011, the inaugural season of the BPL was held in 2012 across Dhaka and Chittagong. Ever since then, eight editions of the Bangladesh Premier League have successfully been conducted.

Dhaka Gladiators were the inaugural champions of the BPL, beating Barisal Burners in the 2012 final. They also went on to win the second edition of the tournament in 2013.

Meanwhile, Comilla Victorians, who won their maiden title in 2015, are the most successful team in BPL history with four titles. The Victorians are also the current champions after winning against Sylhet Strikers in the 2023 final.

Fortune Barishal won the latest season of BPL in 2024.

Dhaka Dynamites, Rangpur Riders and Rajshahi Royals too have won the BPL once. Let us look at the Bangladesh Premier League winners list

BPL winners list





Dhaka Gladiators

Barisal Burners


Dhaka Gladiators

Chittagong Kings


Comilla Victorians

Barisal Bulls 


Dhaka Dynamites

Rajshahi Kings


Rangpur Riders

Dhaka Dynamites


Comilla Victorians

Dhaka Dynamites


Rajshahi Royals

Khulna Tigers


Comilla Victorians

Fortune Barishal


Comilla Victorians

Sylhet Strikers


Fortune Barishal

Comilla Victorians

Comilla Victorians - 4 BPL titles

Comilla Victorians have won the BPL on three occasions - 2015, 2019, 2022 and 2023. The Cumilla-based franchise made their Bangladesh Premier League debut in 2015. 

In 2015, the Victorians beat Barisal Bulls in the final in what was an incredible last-ball finish. Ashar Zaidi, the Pakistani all-rounder, finished as the Player of the Tournament after his exceptional performance in all departments. He scored 215 runs and picked up 17 wickets for the Victorians in their successful campaign.

Meanwhile, in the 2019 final, Tamim Iqbal smacked a jaw-dropping and unbeaten 61-ball 141, which is the second-highest individual score in BPL history. On the back of that exceptional innings, the Victorians beat Dhaka Dynamites in the final by 17 runs.

The third BPL triumph by the Victorians was achieved in 2022. Sunil Narine, this time, was the match-winner with both bat and ball in the final, registering 57 runs and two wickets. Victorians’ pacer Mustafizur Rahman finished the season as the leading wicket-taker with 19 scalps.

Meanwhile, their latest title was in the BPL 2023 season, wherein they beat Sylhet Strikers in the grand finale. It sealed back-to-back titles for the Victorians.

Dhaka Gladiators - 2 BPL titles

The Dhaka Gladiators were the first of the two Dhaka franchises to win the Bangladesh Premier League. They were also the first team to win back-to-back BPL titles after their triumphs in the first two seasons.

In the inaugural season in 2012, Shakib Al Hasan inspired the Gladiators to the title with 280 runs and 15 wickets in 11 matches, making him the Player of the Tournament. The Gladiators, who finished third in the league stage, beat Barisal Burners by eight wickets with 26 balls to spare in the final.

On the other hand, the Gladiators topped the points table in BPL 2013. The Mashrafe Mortaza-led side went on to lift the trophy for a second time after a dominant 43-run victory against Chittagong Kings in the final. Shakin Al Hasan, yet again, won the Player of the Tournament, courtesy of his performances accounting for 329 runs and 15 wickets.

Photo credits: Alamy