This Ad is not available for you.

Know the best team in ISL: Match wins, titles and more

As many as 14 clubs have played in the Indian Super League (ISL) since its inception in 2014. Over the seasons, there have been many success stories in India’s premier football competition but who has been the best team in ISL?

Out of the active 11 teams in ISL 2020-21, only five of them have been a part of the league since the very beginning.

To figure out the best team in ISL, here’s all you need to know.

Most titles won in ISL

ATK (formerly Atletico de Kolkata) had dominated the Indian Super League right from the get-go. During the inaugural season of the competition, they defeated Kerala Blasters 1-0 in the final to be crowned as the first champions of ISL. Since then, ATK have gone on to win as many three ISL titles, making them the most successful team in the ISL.

With three-times champion ATK now rechristened as ATK Mohun Bagan, their record will now be a benchmark for others to surpass.

Like ATK, Chennaiyin FC, too, have stamped their authority right from the start. They finished the group stage of the first season on top, but bowed out of the tournament following a semi-final defeat against Kerala. The team, however, bounced back to win two ISL titles in three years (2015, 2017-18).

In its first six years of existence, only three teams have gotten their hands on the coveted title, with Bengaluru FC being the third side. Following their disappointment in the 2017-18 ISL final, the Blues bounced back to clinch the honour in the 2018-19 season.

Most trophies won by an ISL club
Team No. of ISL titles Year
ATK 3 2014, 2016, 2019-20
Chennaiyin FC 2 2015, 2017-18
Bengaluru FC 1 2018-19

Highest match-winning percentage by an ISL team

FC Goa may not have won a title far but the Gaurs have finished inside the top-four in five of the last six ISL campaigns showcasing the consistency of the team. They are, in fact, the first Indian football club to qualify for the AFC Champions League after having finished the 2019-20 ISL season on the top of the table. They did it by an impressive five-point margin.

It’s then no surprise that FC Goa have recorded the most number of match wins in the ISL (51) ahead of the 2020-21 season. In fact, the Gaurs have played the most number of games (108) in the league. This means they have won 47 per cent of all their matches and while that may be impressive, they come second in the list.

Bengaluru FC are on top having won 56 per cent of all their ISL matches but have played just 62 games. They came in the ISL only during the 2017-18 Indian Super League season.

Teams Matches Wins Losses Draws Win %
Bengaluru FC 62 35 15 12 56%
FC Goa 108 51 34 23 47%
Odisha FC 18 7 7 4 39%
ATK FC 107 41 32 34 38%
Chennaiyin FC 107 41 40 26 38%
Mumbai City FC 100 38 38 24 38%
Jamshedpur FC 54 17 17 20 31%
Delhi Dynamos 82 25 31 26 30%
Kerala Blasters FC 102 29 38 35 28%
NorthEast United FC 98 27 42 29 28%
Hyderabad FC 18 2 12 4 11%

Teams with most goals and best defence in ISL

Another measure of success is the amount of goals scored and conceded. 

FC Goa have scored the most goals in the ISL, 205 in 108 matches, ahead of ISL 2020-21. They are, in fact, the only team so far to score over 200 ISL goals. Their goals-per-match ratio stands at an impressive 1.8, which is by far the most amongst any ISL team.

The other side of the pitch, however, has always been a trouble for the Gaurs. Over the years, they have let in 145 goals - the second-most number of goals that an ISL team has conceded. 

Bengaluru FC, meanwhile, have the best defensive record in ISL. The Blues have conceded just 60 goals in 62 appearances while keeping 26 clean sheets; just three fewer than FC Goa. 

The closest a team has come to FC Goa, in terms of goals scored, is Chennaiyin FC, who have netted 165, at a goals-per-match ratio of 1.5, and have conceded 156 goals.

Teams Goals scored Goals-per-game Goals conceded Clean sheets
FC Goa 205 1.8 145 29
Chennaiyin FC 165 1.5 156 28
ATK FC 138 1.2 122 32
Mumbai City FC 123 1.2 141 34
Kerala Blasters FC 118 1.1 142 27
Delhi Dynamos 114 1.3 120 17
Bengaluru FC 98 1.5 60 26
FC Pune City 97 1.2 110 19
Jamshedpur FC 67 1.2 74 14
Odisha FC 28 1.5 31 4
Hyderabad FC 21 1.1 39 0

*Note: Stats from the 2020-21 ISL season haven't been considered

Feature image courtesy: AFP / Punit Paranjpe

This Ad is not available for you.