Since the inception of the Indian Super League (ISL) in 2014, there have been six ISL winners who have claimed the coveted title at least once.

In the previous editions, erstwhile ATK have been the most dominant team, having secured the title three times. Hyderabad FCChennaiyin FC, Bengaluru FC, Mumbai City  FC, and ATK Mohun Bagan are the other sides, which complete the ISL winners list.

Here are the ISL winners from every edition of Indian Super League:

ISL 2014 winner — Atletico de Kolkata 

In the inaugural season, ATK, formerly known as Atlético de Kolkata, were crowned the ISL season 1 winner as they defeated Kerala Blasters 1-0 in the final, courtesy an injury-time goal by Indian midfielder Mohammed Rafique. 

Under head coach Antonio Lopez Habas and marquee player Luis Garcia, ATK had finished third in the ISL table at the end of the league stages, four points behind table-toppers Chennaiyin FC.

The 2014 season featured eight teams, each playing 14 matches during the regular season.

ISL 2015 winner — Chennaiyin FC

After suffering heartbreak in the 2014 ISL semi-finals, Chennaiyin FC defeated FC Goa 3-2 in a mouth-watering 2015 ISL final at the Fatorda Stadium in Goa. 

Chennaiyin FC had claimed the title with the help from their talisman Stiven Mendoza, who won the 'Hero of the League' award as well as the ISL Golden Boot, having scored 13 goals that season.

Interestingly, during the early stage of 2015 ISL season, Chennaiyin were placed last in the league table. The ‘Marina Machans’ then won four consecutive games to qualify for the play-offs, finishing third in the point table. 

ISL 2016 winner — Atletico de Kolkata

In the 2016 edition of the Indian Super League, ATK secured the title for the second time after defeating Kerala Blasters in a nail-biting penalty shootout at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Kochi, Kerala.

With more than 80,000 fans in the stadium, Blasters took the lead in the 37th minute through Mohammed Rafi. However, just after seven minutes, Henrique Sereno equalised for ATK. With the score still at 1–1 after extra-time, the match eventually went into a penalty shootout. 

ATK won the shoot-out 4–3 and became two-time champions courtesy some brilliant saves from their keeper Debjit Majumder.

ISL 2017-18 winner — Chennaiyin FC

This was the year when All India Football Federation handed ISL the top-tier tag from Asian Football Confederation (AFC), replacing I-League

ISL expanded with the inclusion of Bengaluru FC and Jamshedpur FC, with a play-off slot to play for in the AFC Cup.

Under head coach John Gregory, Chennaiyin FC defeated Bengaluru FC 3-2 to claim their second ISL title at Sree Kanteerava Stadium in Bengaluru.

Earlier in the league stages, Bengaluru FC had accumulated 40 points from their 18 games to finish eight points clear of Chennaiyin, who had finished second in the points table. Goa and Pune City were the other two teams who qualified for the 2017-18 ISL play-offs.

ISL 2018-19 winner — Bengaluru FC

In the 2018-19 edition of the tournament, Sunil Chhetri-led Bengaluru FC were hot favourites to be crowned the ISL season 5 winner.

As it turned out, Bengaluru FC secured their maiden title by defeating FC Goa 1–0 in the final at Mumbai Football Arena. Bengaluru FC’s Rahul Bheke scored the winner from a corner in the 117th minute.

As in the earlier edition of the tournament, Bengaluru had topped the ISL league stages in 2018-19 season.

In the semi-finals, while Bengaluru defeated NorthEast United 4-2 in two legs, Goa thrashed Mumbai City 5-2.

ISL 2019-20 winner — Atletico de Kolkata

Having experienced two disappointing seasons, ATK re-appointed Antonio Lopez Habas as their head coach for the 2019-20 ISL season.

The decision turned out to be successful as ATK became the first club to win the ISL thrice after they defeated Chennaiyin FC 3-1 in the 2019-20 ISL final.

In the finals, ATK goal-keeper Arindam Bhattacharya showed his class to help the white and red brigade clinch the coveted title.

For the champions, Roy Krishna and David Williams were the stand-out performers throughout the tournament.

ISL 2020-21 winner — Mumbai City FC

Ahead of the seventh edition of the Indian Super League, FC Goa’s former head coach Sergio Lobera was handed the reins of Mumbai City FC to change the fortunes of the club. As it turned out, it was a masterstroke as Mumbai City FC won their maiden ISL title by defeating ATK Mohun Bagan 2-1 at the Fatorda Stadium.

The Islanders are only the second team, after Bengaluru FC in 2018-19, to finish on top of the league and win the final in the same season. Mumbai, thus, completed a rare double of winning the ISL title after clinching the League Winners Shield and securing a place in the 2022 AFC Champions League.

ISL 2021-22 winner — Hyderabad FC

Hyderabad FC defeated Kerala Blasters FC 3-1 in the penalty shootout to clinch their maiden Indian Super League title at the Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Fatorda, Goa.

Under the tutelage of Manolo Márquez, Hyderabad had earlier finished second in the league phase with 38 points from 20 matches, five points behind table-toppers Jamshedpur FC. The Nizams later beat ATK Mohun Bagan 3-2 on aggregate in the ISL 2021-22 semi-finals to book their place in the final.

For Hyderabad FC, striker Bartholomew Ogbeche was the standout performer as he bagged the Golden Boot award by netting 18 goals in 20 matches.

ISL 2022-23 winner — ATK Mohun Bagan

After finishing third in the league stage, ATK Mohun Bagan overcame Hyderabad FC via penalties over the two-legged semi-finals

They got the better of Bengaluru FC via penalties in the final at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Goa. Two goals from Dimitri Petratos - their top goal-scorer for the campaign- in the final against the Blues meant that the game ended at 2-2 at fulltime and eventually led to a penalty shootout, which the Mariners won 4-3.

They beat Feature photo: Indian Super League