England dramatically picked up the 2019 Cricket World Cup title in one of the greatest One Day International matches ever played. England beat New Zealand on boundary countback after the match was tied following a Super Over.

Therefore, England’s ODI team will be attempting to put together a title defence in the 2023 Cricket World Cup. But that is going to be easier said than done, as this year's tournament will be hosted in India under very different conditions.

Here we look at some trends surrounding Cricket World Cup Betting as we look forward to another edition of this great tournament. Use what you have seen on Cricket Betting Advice to create a wagering strategy and get yourself a winning combination.

Home Winners?

None of the first nine editions of the Cricket World Cup were won by the event's host nation. But since then, there has been a noticeable shift as the last three editions of the World Cup have all been won by one of the hosts.

Winning Host Nations at the Cricket World Cup

  • 2011 India (joint hosts with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh)
  • 2015 Australia (joint hosts with New Zealand)
  • 2019 England (joint hosts with Wales)

For 2023 India is hosting again and, for the first time ever, as solo hosts. Considering the recent switch in this cricket trend, it looks as if home advantage has become a major factor in determining where the title ends up.

All but one of the last six teams to play in the final of the Cricket World Cup have been host-nation teams. India are the outright favourites for the 2023 Cricket World Cup. But no team has yet to win the event as a solo tournament host.

Winning the Toss

On how many occasions have the winners of the toss in a World Cup Final gone on to win the match? What influence has it had? Again, there has been an interesting twist in this statistic in recent years that punters should pay attention to for their cricket betting.


Each of the last four Cricket World Cup Finals was won by the team that lost the toss. In contrast, five of the eight previous Cricket World Cup Finals were won by the team that won the toss on the day.

Batting or Fielding First?

The playing conditions determine what the team that wins the toss wants to do first. The earlier editions were quite varied in the correlation between what the winner of the toss did and the outcome of the match.

Decision & Result of Coin Toss Winners

  • Field First and Won: 1975, 1979, 2003
  • Bat First and Won: 1983, 1987
  • Bat First and Lost: 2007, 2011, 2015, 2019
  • Field First and Lost: 1992, 1996, 1999

But again, we can find a significant recent trend here, as the last four Cricket World Cup Final results have all been lost by the team that won the toss and elected to bat first. Overall, picking the option to bat first has produced the greatest risk in the showcase match.


We are heading back to the Asian subcontinent for the 2023 Cricket World Cup. What trends can be pulled out of the previous results from the finals in 1987, 1996, and 2011, when India was jointly hosting the tournament?

India themselves made the final on just one of those occasions. That was in 2011, when they beat Sri Lanka at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, the venue of this year’s finale, incidentally.


Sri Lanka and Australia both reached the final in two of the three tournaments when India was on hosting duties.

Putting It All Together

So combining some of the information above from the previous finals, who could be the strongest contender at the 2023 Cricket World Cup? Perhaps a team that loses the toss in the Final and is asked to field first could be the ticket.

With their record in India at previous World Cup editions, expect Australia, the tournament's most successful nation with five titles, to be right in the mix.