The Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) club, U.P. Yoddha have entered into a strategic partnership with U.P. Kabaddi League in an attempt to make inroads into the grassroots level in their home state.

In association with Hindustan Publication, the club wish to discover new talents in the state at the initial levels through the UP Kabaddi League. The league started on September 1 and will run till October 13 across five cities – Agra, Kanpur, Gorakhpur, Varanasi and Lucknow.

In its second season, the league features 35 men’s teams and eight women’s teams from across the state. The men’s tournament is divided into four zones with the finals scheduled to play in the City of Nawabs – Lucknow. The women’s matches shall be held at Lucknow during the same time as the men’s finals.

All the matches will be played in the Pro Kabaddi League format and a similar format of scoring shall be used as the one used in PKL.

The team bifurcation for each zone is as follows:

Zone A: Agra (Eight District teams)

Zone B: Kanpur (Eight District teams)

Zone C: Gorakhpur (Nine District teams)

Zone D: Varanasi (Ten District teams)

Feature image courtesy: Star Sports & PKL