After a two-year hiatus enforced due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) is all set to make its return and the excitement among players and fans alike is palpable with the player auctions just around the corner. Although PKL is slated to begin in December, the player auction is scheduled to be held at the end of August. 

Ahead of the three-day-long auction, PKL franchises have been announcing their list of retained players and it’s safe to say that there have been quite a few surprises. While Pardeep Narwal's non-retention by three-time champions Patna Pirates has been one of the biggest surprises so far, plenty of other teams have gone with some eyebrow-raising retentions. 

A total of 59 players, including 22 elite, have been retained by the 12 teams. As per the rules of Pro Kabaddi, a maximum of 12 players can be retained by a team consisting of a maximum of six seasoned and six young players.

Here’s the complete list of players retained by PKL franchises so far.

Bengal Warriors retained players

Maninder Singh - Raider

Mohammad Esmaeil Nabibakhsh - All Rounder

Rinku Narwal - Defender

Ravindra Ramesh Kumawat - Raider

Bengaluru Bulls retained players

Pawan Kumar Sehrawat - Raider

Amit Sheoran - Defender

Saurabh Nandal - Defender

Banty - Raider

Mohit Sehrawat - Defender

Dabang Delhi K.C. retained players

Vijay - All Rounder

Neeraj Narwal - Raider

Naveen Kumar - Raider

Balram - All Rounder

Sumit - Defender

Mohit - Defender

Gujarat Giants retained players

Parvesh Bhainswal - Defender

Sunil Kumar - Defender

Harmanjeet Singh - Raider

Sumit - Defender

Ankit - Defender

Haryana Steelers retained players

Vikash Kandola - Raider

Vinay - Raider

Vikas Chillar - Raider

Chand Singh - Defender

Jaipur Pink Panthers retained players

Amit Hooda - Defender

Vishal - Defender

Nitin Rawal - All Rounder

Sachin Narwal - All Rounder

Pavan TR - Defender

Sushil Gulia - Raider

Elavarasan A - Defender

Patna Pirates retained players

Neeraj Kumar - Defender

Monu - Raider

Sahil Mann - All Rounder

Rajveersinh Pratap Rao Chavan - Raider

Mohit - Raider

Puneri Paltan retained players

Balasaheb Shahaji Jadhav - Defender

Pawan Kumar Kadian - Raider

Hadi Tajik - Defender

Sanket Sawant - Defender 

Pankaj Mohite - Raider

Tamil Thalaivas retained players

Sagar - Defender

Himanshu - Defender

M Abishek - Defender

Telugu Titans retained players

Rakesh Gowda - Raider

Ankit Beniwal - Raider

Rajnish - Raider

Manish - Defender

Akash Choudhary - Defender

Akash Dattu Arsul - Defender

U Mumba retained players

Abhishek Singh - Raider

Ajinkya Rohidas Kapre - All Rounder

Harendra Kumar - Defender

Fazel Atrachali - Defender

Navneet - Raider

U.P. Yoddha retained players

Nitesh Kumar - Defender

Sumit - Defender

Ashu Singh - Defender

Surinder Gill - Raider

Featured photo : Pro Kabaddi