Ahead of the Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) Season 9 auction, the teams have released their list of retained players from the Elite Retained Players, Retained Young Players, Existing New Young Players and Franchisee-nominated New young Players categories.

A total of 111 players were retained by the 12 teams ahead of the auction for PKL Season 9. Out of these 111 players, 13 are Retained Young Players, 19 are Elite Retained Players, 38 are Existing New Young Players and 41 are Franchisees-nominated New Young Players.

Puneri Paltan, Tamil Thalaivas and U.P. Yoddha have all retained as many as 11 players. Pune’s Star all-rounder Aslam Inamdar, who tallied 189 points in PKL Season 8, has been retained.

Bengal Warriors, Jaipur Pink Panthers and Gujarat Giants are the teams with the fewest retentions having retained seven players each.

The Elite Retained Players list is headlined by the retention of star raider Maninder Singh by Bengal Warriors. 

Patna Pirates have retained as many as four players from the elite list - the most by any team for the category. This includes Mohammadreza Shadloui Chiyaneh, Sajin Chandrasekar, Monu and Neeraj Kumar. Mohammadreza Shadloui Chiyaneh is also the only foreign player retained ahead of PKL Season 9.

In the Young Players’ category, Naveen Kumar’s retention by Dabang Delhi does not come as a surprise. The 22-year-old raider averaged 12.18 raid points per game last season and finished with a tally of 210 points in total.

It’s worth noting that teams are allowed to retain up to six players under the Elite Retained Players category. Franchises can also retain up to four players from the New Young Players category under stipulated conditions.

On that note, here’s a look at the complete list of players retained by PKL franchises ahead of Season 9.

Bengal Warriors retained players

Maninder Singh - Raider

Akash Pikalmunde - Raider

Suyog Baban Gaikar - Raider

R Guhan - Raider

Parshant Kumar - Raider

Manoj Gowda - All-rounder

Vaibhav Bhausaheb Garje - Defender

Bengaluru Bulls retained players

More G B - Raider

Bharat - Raider

Rohit Kumar - Defender

Vinod Lachmayya Naik - Defender

Saurabh Nandal - Defender

Mahender Singh - Defender

Mayur Jagannath Kadam - Defender

Rajnesh - Defender

Yash Hooda - Defender

Yash Hooda - Defender

Dabang Delhi K.C. retained players

Naveen Kumar - Raider

Ashu Malik - Raider

Ashish Narwal - Raider

Manjeet - Raider

Suraj Panwar - Raider

Vijay - All-rounder

Dipak - Defender

Krishan - Defender

Vinay Kumar - Defender

Vijay - Defender

Gujarat Giants retained players

Sonu - Raider

Rakesh - Raider

Gaurav Chhikara - Raider

Sohit - Raider

Sonu Singh - Raider

Parteek Dhaiya - Raider

Rohan Singh - All-rounder

Haryana Steelers retained players

Meetu - Raider

Jaideep - Defender

Ankit - Defender

Mohit - Defender

Monu - Defender

Naveen - Defender

Harsh - Defender

Sunny - Defender

Jaipur Pink Panthers retained players

Arjun Deshwal - Raider

Devank - Raider

Sahul Kumar - Defender

Deepak - Defender

Ankush - Defender

Ashish - Defender

Abhishek KS - Defender

Patna Pirates retained players

Monu - Raider

Rohit - Raider

Ranjit Venkatramana Naik - Raider

Anuj Kumar - Raider

Mohammadreza Shadloui Chiyaneh - All-rounder

Sajin Chandrasekar - All-rounder

Neeraj Kumar - Defender

Manish - Defender

Naveen Sharma - Defender

Thiyagarajan Yuvaraj - Defender

Puneri Paltan retained players

Pankaj Mohite - Raider

Aslam Inamdar - Raider

Mohit Goyat - Raider

Akash Santosh Shinde - Raider

Shubham Nitin Shelke Raider

Aditya Tushar Shinde - Raider

Govind Gurjar - All-rounder

Sanket Sawant - Defender

Sombir - Defender 

Abinesh Nadarajan - Defender

Badal Taqdir Singh - Defender

Tamil Thalaivas retained players

Ajinkya Ashok Pawar - Raider

Himanshu - Raider

Narender - Raider

Jatin - Raider

Himanshu - Raider

Sahil - Defender

Ashish - Defender

Mohit - Defender

Himanshu - Defender

Abishek - Defender

Telugu Titans retained players

Ankit Beniwal - Raider

Rajnish - Raider

Vinay - Raider

Muhammed Shihas S - Defender

Palla Ramakrishna - Defender

Prince - Defender

Mohit Pahal - Defender

Mohit - Defender

Nitin - Defender

U Mumba retained players

Kamlesh - Raider

Shivam - Raider

Rupesh - Raider

Sachin - Raider

Pranay Vinay Rane - Raider

Rinku - Defender

Prince - Defender

Rahul - Defender

Shivansh Thakur - Defender

U.P. Yoddha retained players

Surender Gill - Raider

Aman - Raider

Rohit Tomar - Raider

Durgesh Kumar - Raider

Mahipal - Raider

Anil Kumar - Raider

Nitin Panwar - All-rounder

Shubham Kumar - Defender 

Sumit - Defender

Ashu Singh - Defender

Nitesh Kumar - Defender

Featured photo: Twitter / Puneri Paltan