The Kabaddi World Cup winners list is dominated by the Indian men’s Kabaddi team, who have clinched three titles in Standard style and six championships in Circle style. 

Kabaddi world cup is usually conducted in two styles - the Standard style and the Circle style

Organized by the International Kabaddi Federation (IKF), the inaugural edition of the kabaddi world cup in Standard style was held in Mumbai in 2004. India defeated Iran 55-27 in the final to clinch the inaugural title.

As per the format of the tournament, five teams are divided into two pools with the top two teams from each group qualifying for the semi-finals.

Since the inception of the tournament, India have won all the three Kabaddi World Cup titles in Standard style in 2004, 2007 and 2016.

Kabaddi World Cup Standard Style

Year Host Winner Score Runner-up
2004 Mumbai India 55-27 Iran
2007 Panvel India 29-19 Iran
2016 Ahmedabad India 38-29 Iran

Meanwhile, the circle style kabaddi world cup is an international kabaddi competition administered by the Government of Punjab in India.

The tournament has been held every year since it was founded in 2010 except for 2015 due to the Guru Granth Sahib desecration controversy.

India have won six of the seven circle style Kabaddi World Cups while Pakistan have clinched the last edition of the tournament in 2020.

Kabaddi World Cup Circle Style

Year Host Winner Score Runner-up
2010 Ludhiana India 58-24 Pakistan
2011 Ludhiana India 59-25 Canada
2012 Ludhiana India 59-22 Pakistan
2013 Ludhiana India 48-39 Pakistan
2014 Sri Muktsar Sahib India 45-42 Pakistan
2016 Jalalabad, Fazilka India 62-20 England
2020 Lahore Pakistan 43-41 India

Featured photo: Pro Kabaddi