The UEFA Euro 2024 will see 24 teams compete for the continental crown and so far, eight teams have qualified for the main tournament. Germany, who will host the UEFA Euro 2024, received automatic qualification for the continental tournament.  

The UEFA Euro 2024 will be played from June 14 to July 14 next year. 

The UEFA European Championships, also known as UEFA Euro, began in 1960. France hosted the inaugural edition and the Soviet Union emerged victorious by defeating Yugoslavia in the final. 

So far, Germany and Spain have been the most successful teams of the quadrennial competition, winning it three times each. 

In the previous edition, Italy trumped England in the final on penalties after both teams scored a goal each in normal time. It was the second title for Italy, having previously won the competition in 1968. 

A total of 53 UEFA member associations entered the UEFA Euro 2024 Qualifiers, which began in March 2023. It consists of 10 groups and the top two teams of each group in the UEFA Euro 2024 Qualifiers will make it to the main competition. 

So far, Belgium, France, Portugal, Spain, Scotland, Turkey and Austria have confirmed their spots in UEFA Euro 2024. 

The teams finishing third in each group will progress to the play-off round and three more teams will make it to the final tournament. 

Two-time champions France and the 2016 winners Portugal have confirmed their status as group toppers. Belgium, Spain, Scotland, Turkey and Austria await their final position confirmation in their respective groups, but are assured of a top two finish and a place in the main tournament next year. 

The last round of the matches of the UEFA Euro 2024 Qualifiers will be played from November 15 to 21 and the playoffs will take place in March 2024. 

UEFA Euro 2024 qualified teams


Qualification criteria




Group F top two teams


Group B winner


Group J winner


Group A top two teams


Group A top two teams


Group D top two teams


Group F top two teams


Group C winner


Photo credit: Alamy