Spain’s top-tier football division La Liga will start on August 14, 2021 and run till May 22, 2022, the Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) announced on Monday while unveiling the calendar of fixtures. 

Espanyol, Real Mallorca and Rayo Vallecano are the three newly promoted teams who will be a part of the 2021-22 La Liga campaign and the draw for the fixtures in the upcoming season will take place on June 30. 

Atletico Madrid are the defending champions after winning the title for the 11th time last season. They won their second La Liga crown under Diego Simeone on the final matchday of last season and will be aiming for a successful title defence, which is something they didn’t manage the last time they were La Liga champions with the Argentine coach. 

Meanwhile, the Spanish Cup final is set to be staged on April 23 with January 12 and 16 slated as the dates for the Super Cup, which will be hosted by Saudi Arabia. The format pits league champions Atletico Madrid against Copa del Rey runner-up Athletic Club, while Cup winners Barcelona and Real Madrid will square off in an El Clasico in the other match.

The King Abdullah International Stadium in Jeddah will host the final showdown.

Featured photo : Javier Soriano / AFP