The race for the Golden Boot in the Indian Super League was kicked-off by ATK Mohun Bagan striker Roy Krishna. His solitary goal against Kerala Blasters proved to be the difference in the ISL 2020-21 opener at the GMC Stadium in Bambolim.

While the Fijian international opened the scoring for the season, Anirudh Thapa was the first Indian to score in ISL 2020-21. His goal in Chennaiyin FC’s 2-1 win over Jamshedpur FC was the fastest in the club’s history, taking just 52 seconds.

How the ISL golden boot award is determined 

The Golden Boot, given to the ISL top scorer at the end of a season, is one of the most prestigious individual awards in India's premier football league.

According to the previous ISL rules, if multiple players accumulate the same number of goals, the player with a higher assist count is handed the award. In the unlikely scenario of a deadlock in the assist count as well, the player who has played the least minutes that season will be awarded the coveted prize.

Former Chennaiyin FC striker, Nerijus Valskis, won the Golden Boot in ISL 2019-20, having scored 15 goals and six assists.

This season, however, the rules have been tweaked. The top scorer of the ISL 2020-21 season will be determined by minutes per goal.

Check | Golden Boot winners from every ISL season

ISL top scorer for 2020-21: Golden Boot award contenders

The change in rules means FC Goa's Igor Angulo now holds the edge over ATK Mohun Bagan's Roy Krishna. Angulo has a goal scored in every 117.50 minutes, while Krisha has scored in every 140.86 minutes. With only one game to go for Krishna, the Fijian needs to score in the ISL 2020-21 final in order to win the golden boot.

The list further is stacked by the likes of Odisha FC's Diego Mauricio, Mumbai City FC's Adam Le Fondre and Hyderabad FC's Aridane Santana.

Meanwhile, Bengaluru FC skipper Sunil Chhetri is the top Indian goal scorer in ISL 7 with eight goals from 20 matches. 

ISL top scorer 2020-21 rankings


Matches Goals Assists
Igor Angulo - FC Goa 21 14 0
Roy Krishna - ATK Mohun Bagan 22 14 4
Diego Mauricio - Odisha FC 20 12 2
Adam Le Fondre - Mumbai City FC 22 11 1
Aridane Santana - Hyderabad FC 18 10 2

Feature image courtesy: / @atkmohunbaganfc