ATK Mohun Bagan talisman Roy Krishna missed on the coveted Golden Boot award for the second season in a row but walked away with the Hero of the League award after the final of the Indian Super League 2020-21 edition.

The latest season, with a whopping 115 matches, was brought to an entertaining close as Mumbai City FC - who won the League Winners Shield earlier this season - secured a 2-1 win over ATKMB to become just the second team, after Bengaluru FC in 2018-19, to finish on top of the league and win the final in the same edition.

The ISL 2020-21 season was the longest campaign in the history of the tournament and it had its rules amended for the top scorer for the seventh edition. According to the new rule, should there be two or more players who score the same amount of goals, the winner will be decided based on the goals per minute ratio.

As it turned out, FC Goa's Igor Angulo was adjudged as the Golden Boot winner as he netted 14 times from 21 games. His goals per minute ratio (117.50) was lower in comparison to Roy Krishna's 147.28.

Krishna's team-mate and ATK Mohun Bagan goalkeeper Arindam Bhattacharja took home the Golden Glove ahead of Mumbai City FC's Amrinder Singh, on the basis of higher minutes per goal conceded (108.95). Both the custodians registered 10 clean sheets between sticks, but between the two, 31-year-old Arindam leaked just 19 goals as opposed to Amrinder's 21.

Meanwhile, NorthEast United's Lalengmawia won the ISL Emerging Player of the League award following his impressive displays as a defensive midfielder. The 20-year-old registered 93 tackles and 46 interceptions in 22 games and had also won the Emerging Player of the Month award in February.

Lastly, FC Goa's Alberto Noguera won the Winning Pass of the League award for his tally of eight assists. He fought off competition from ATK Mohun Bagan's Roy Krishna - also eight assists - as the former had lower minutes per assist (191.62) than the latter (257.75).

Feature image courtesy: 2021 Indian Super League