Indian Super League 2022-23 has witnessed some pulsating football across the country and now, it is heading closer to its business end. Mumbai City FC became the first team to qualify for the playoffs in the 2022-23 edition and maintained a record-breaking winning streak in the process. 

Mumbai City FC dropped points in just three matches and are yet to lose a match in the ISL 2022-23. They have scored the most goals in the tournament so far and also have one of the best defensive records. 

After beginning their campaign with a pulsating 3-3 draw against fellow title-contenders Hyderabad FC, they went on to score four goals or more in matches against Chennaiyin FC, Bengaluru FC, FC Goa, Odisha FC and Kerala Blasters - stamping their authority as the favourites to lift the title for a second time.   

Defending champions Hyderabad FC became the second team to qualify for the playoffs this season. Manolo Marquez’s side defeated Kerala Blasters in the ISL 2021-22 final, but missed out on ISL Shield to Jamshedpur FC having finished second at the end of the league stage last season.

It seems like they are heading in the same direction again in 2022-23, with Mumbai City establishing a healthy lead at the top of the table. They also have the best defensive record in the league so far.

As per the new ISL playoffs format, the top two teams have already made it to the semi-finals, while the remaining four spots in the top six are up for grabs. At the end of the league stage, the team that's third will clash with the side that is in sixth position, while the fourth-placed team will face the fifth in single-leg playoffs to determine the other two semi-finalists.

Kerala Blasters, who have reached the final of the ISL multiple times, sealed yet another playoff appearance this season. ATK Mohun Bagan and Bengaluru FC also reached the playoffs. 

Here’s a list of teams who have reached the ISL playoffs this season. 

Indian Super League 2022-23 qualified teams 

Mumbai City FC
Hyderabad FC
ATK Mohun Bagan FC
Bengaluru FC
Kerala Blasters FC
Odisha FC


Photo credits: Alamy