Qatar, hosts of the FIFA World Cup 2022, will play the opening fixture of the tournament against Ecuador at the Al Bayt Stadium in Al Khor, Qatar on November 20.

They were initially set to play on November 21, but the football body made the announcement on August 11 that a unanimous decision was taken by the Bureau of the FIFA Council to bring the opening match and ceremony of this year’s tournament at Al Bayt Stadium by one day.

This ensures the continuity of a long-standing tradition where the FIFA World Cup begins with the first match featuring either the hosts or the defending champions.

The Maroons, currently ranked 51 in the world, have never qualified for the World Cup finals since their competitive international debut in 1970.

Senegal, who initially were to face the Netherlands in the opening fixture, will now play in the second scheduled match on November 21 at the Al Thumama Stadium in Doha, Qatar.

The fixture is preceded by England taking on Asian giants Iran in the opening fixture of Group B at the Khalifa International Stadium.

Defending champions France, who were drawn into Group D, will play their first game against the winner of the Inter-confederation playoff between UAE/Australia and Peru.

Record five-time winners Brazil, part of Group G, lock horns with Serbia in their opening encounter while Portugal, who secured qualification from the European playoffs, clash against Ghana.

Canada, the first team to qualify for FIFA World Cup 2022 from CONCACAF and making their only second appearance at football’s showpiece event, will face Belgium in their round one tie.

The FIFA World Cup 2022 Round of 16 will run from December 3 to December 7, while the quarter-finals are slated for December 9 to December 11.

The semi-finals will be held on December 14 and 15, while the Bronze final is scheduled for December 18.

The FIFA World Cup 2022 final will be played at the Lusail Iconic Stadium on December 19.  

FIFA World Cup 2022 Groups

Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands

Group B: England, Iran, United States, Wales/Scotland/Ukraine

Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland

Group D: France, Australia/UAE/Peru, Denmark, Tunisia

Group E: Spain, Costa Rica/New Zealand, Germany, Japan

Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia

Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon

Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea

FIFA World Cup 2022 full schedule, fixtures and India match times

All times are in India Standard Time

Sunday, November 20

Qatar vs Ecuador - 9:30 PM IST

Monday, November 21

England vs Iran - 6:30 PM IST

Senegal vs Netherlands - 9:30 PM IST

Tuesday, November 22

USA vs Wales/Scotland/Ukraine - 12:30 AM IST

Argentina vs Saudi Arabia - 3:30 PM IST

Denmark vs Tunisia - 6:30 PM IST

Mexico vs Poland - 9:30 PM IST

Wednesday, November 23

France vs UAE/Australia/Peru - 12:30 AM IST

Morocco vs Croatia - 3:30 PM IST

Germany vs Japan - 6:30 PM IST

Spain vs Costa Rica/New Zealand - 9:30 PM IST

Thursday, November 24

Belgium vs Canada - 12:30 AM IST 

Switzerland vs Cameroon - 3:30 PM IST

Uruguay vs South Korea - 6:30 PM IST

Portugal vs Ghana - 9:30 PM IST

Friday, November 25

Brazil vs Serbia - 12:30 AM IST

Wales/Scotland/Ukraine vs Iran - 3:30 PM IST

Qatar vs Senegal - 6:30 PM IST

Netherlands vs Ecuador - 9:30 PM IST

Saturday, November 26

England vs USA - 12:30 AM IST

Tunisia vs UAE/Australia/Peru - 3:30 PM IST

Poland vs Saudi Arabia - 6:30 PM IST

France vs Denmark - 9:30 PM IST

Sunday, November 27

Argentina vs Mexico - 12:30 PM IST

Japan vs Costa Rica/New Zealand - 3:30 PM IST

Belgium vs Morocco - 6:30 PM IST

Croatia vs Canada - 9:30 PM IST

Monday, November 28

Spain vs Germany - 12:30 PM IST

Cameroon vs Serbia - 3:30 PM IST

South Korea vs Ghana - 6:30 PM IST

Brazil vs Switzerland - 9:30 PM IST

Tuesday, November 29

Portugal vs Uruguay - 12:30 AM IST

Ecuador vs Senegal - 8:30 PM IST

Netherlands vs Qatar - 8:30 PM IST

Wednesday, November 30

Iran vs USA - 12:30 AM IST

Wales/Scotland/Ukraine vs England - 12:30 AM IST

Tunisia vs France - 8:30 PM IST

UAE/Australia/Peru vs Denmark - 8:30 PM IST

Thursday, December 1

Poland vs Argentina - 12:30 AM IST

Saudi Arabia vs Mexico - 12:30 AM IST

Canada vs Morocco - 8:30 PM IST

Croatia vs Belgium - 8:30 PM IST

Friday, December 2

Costa Rica/New Zealand vs Germany - 12:30 AM IST

Japan vs Spain - 12:30 AM IST

Ghana vs Uruguay - 8:30 PM IST

South Korea vs Portugal - 8:30 PM IST

Saturday, December 3

Cameroon vs Brazil - 12:30 AM IST

Serbia vs Switzerland - 12:30 AM IST

FIFA World Cup 2022 knockouts full schedule, fixtures and India match times

Saturday, December 3

1A vs 2B - 8:30 PM IST

Sunday, December 4

1C vs 2D - 12:30 AM IST

1D vs 2C - 8:30 PM IST

Monday, December 5

1B vs 2A - 12:30 AM IST

1E vs 2F - 8:30 PM IST

Tuesday, December 6

1G vs 2H - 12:30 AM IST

1F vs 2E - 8:30 PM IST

Wednesday, December 7

1H vs 2G - 12:30 AM IST

Friday, 09 December 2022

Quarter-final 1 - 8:30 PM IST

Saturday, 10 December 2022

Quarter-final 2 - 12:30 AM IST

Quarter-final 3 - 8:30 PM IST

Sunday, December 11

Quarter-final 4 - 12:30 AM IST

Wednesday, December 14

Semi-final 1 - 12:30 AM IST

Thursday, December 15

Semi-final 2 - 12:30 AM IST

Sunday, December 18

Bronze final - 12:30 AM IST

Monday, December 19

FIFA World Cup 2022 final - 12:30 AM IST

Featured photo: AFP / KARIM JAAFAR