Five-time world champions Brazil became the first South American nation to join the list of FIFA World Cup 2022 qualified teams, following their 1-0 win over Colombia on Friday, November 12.

Brazil, one of the most successful countries in international football, needed a positive result to claim one of CONMEBOL’s four automatic places for World Cup qualification. As a result, Brazil extended their legacy of participating in every football World Cup in history.

Four-time World Cup winners Germany were the first nation, apart from hosts Qatar, to make it to the list of FIFA World Cup 2022 qualified teams, following their 4-0 win over North Macedonia in their Group J European qualifier match in October 2021.

Denmark, who had a whirlwind 2021 following the Christian Eriksen episode at the UEFA Euro 2020, joined Germany in the FIFA World Cup 2022 qualified teams after finishing as Group F winners thanks to a 1-0 win over Austria on October 12.

Besides Germany and Denmark, France and Belgium booked their place following wins over Kazakhstan and Estonia respectively. France recorded an impressive 8-0 win over Kazakhstan while Belgium defeated Estonia 3-1 to become the fourth European nation to qualify for the World Cup finals.

On Sunday, November 14, the trio of Croatia (Group H), Spain (Group B) and Serbia (Group A) sealed their qualification spots with hard-fought wins over Russia, Sweden and Portugal respectively. England and Switzerland followed suit the next day. England thrashed San Marino 10-0 in their final qualifying group game. Switzerland, on the other hand, registered a 4-0 win over Bulgaria which helped them go past Italy to qualify for the showpiece event.

The Netherlands eventually joined the fray following a 2-0 win over Norway and Argentina qualified as well despite playing a 0-0 draw against Brazil.

On Wednesday, March 30, Portugal and Poland won their respective Playoff finals to confirm their participation in the FIFA World Cup 2022. While Portugal swept aside giant-killers North Macedonia 2-0, Robert Lewandowski's Poland beat Sweden with a similar scoreline.

Wales became the final representative from Europe to qualify for FIFA World Cup 2022 as they beat Ukraine 1-0 in the postponed Playoff final on Sunday, June 6. 

The qualification spots from the AFC qualifiers were finalised on Thursday, March 24, as Japan and Saudi Arabia registered a one-two finish in Group B. Japan beat Australia 2-0, while Saudi Arabia settled for a 1-1 draw with China PR to join Iran and South Korea at the World Cup finals. Japan's victory meant they will make a seventh consecutive appearance at the World Cup, joining England and France on the list of most consecutive appearances in the World Cup.

On Friday, March 25, Ecuador and Uruguay joined Brazil and Argentina on the FIFA World Cup 2022 qualified teams list from the CONMEBOL federation. Despite a 1-3 loss to Paraguay, Gustavo Alfaro's La Tri secured qualification as they needed just one point from their remaining fixtures.

Diego Alonso's Uruguay will play at the 2022 FIFA World Cup thanks to Giorgian De Arrascaeta's 42nd-minute strike in the 1-0 win over Peru. La Celeste needed to register a win against Peru to stay in contention for direct qualification and also required Brazil to either draw or win against Chile. 

Meanwhile, five teams - Ghana, Senegal, Cameroon, Morocco and Tunisia - sealed their place on the FIFA World Cup 2022 qualified teams from the CAF confederation.

Elsewhere, the CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers concluded on March 31 with Canada, USA and Mexico qualifying for FIFA World Cup 2022.

Australia and Costa Rica won their respective intercontinental play-offs against United Arab Emirates (UAE) and New Zealand to complete the list of FIFA World Cup 2022 qualified teams.

FIFA World Cup 2022 qualified teams (UEFA)














FIFA World Cup 2022 qualified teams (AFC)

Qatar (hosts)


South Korea


Saudi Arabia


FIFA World Cup 2022 qualified teams (CONMEBOL)





FIFA World Cup 2022 qualified teams (CAF)






FIFA World Cup 2022 qualified teams (CONCACAF)


United States


Costa Rica

Featured photo: AFP / Nelson Almeida