The FIFA U-20 World Cup 2023 is currently underway in Argentina having begun on Saturday, May 20 and the tournament will end on Sunday, July 11.

A total of 24 teams will be battling it out for the top prize in this under-20 age-group showpiece tournament.

Despite failing to qualify for the tournament, Argentina is a part of it as the host nation after Singapore was stripped of its hosting rights by FIFA.

A platform for up-and-coming players to showcase their talent and potential, the past editions of the FIFA U-20 World Cup 2023 have seen the likes of Luis Suarez, Andres Iniesta, Lionel Messi, and Luis Figo taking part in the tournament.

The 24 teams that are participating in the FIFA U-20 World Cup are host Argentina, Brazil, England, Uzbekistan, USA, New Zealand, Fiji, Ecuador, Tunisia, France, South Korea, Iraq, Uruguay, Guatemala, Israel, Senegal, Japan, Colombia, Italy, Dominican Republic, Honduras, Gambia, Slovakia, and Nigeria.

These 24 nations have been divided into six groups with the top two teams from each group qualifying for the round of 16 clashes alongside the four best third-placed teams.

Six-time champions of the under-20 World Cup Argentina are in Group A alongside Uzbekistan, Guatemala, and New Zealand, while the USA, Ecuador, Fiji, and Slovakia comprise Group B.

Group C is made up of Senegal, Japan, Israel, and Colombia, whereas Italy, five-time champions Brazil, Nigeria, and the Dominican Republic are in Group D.  

Meanwhile, Uruguay, England, Iraq, as well as Tunisia are a part of Group E, and France, South Korea, The Gambia, and Hondorus complete Group F.

The ongoing edition of the U-20 FIFA football World Cup is certain to have a new champion after defending champions Ukraine, who won the 2019 edition, couldn’t make it through the qualifies.

The matches in this tournament will be held across four cities in Argentina, namely La Plata, Mendoza, San Juan, and Santiago del Estero.

FIFA U20 World Cup 2023 schedule

Saturday, May 20

Argentina vs Uzbekistan, Group A

Guatemala vs New Zealand, Group A

United States vs Ecuador, Group B

Fiji vs Slovakia, Group B

Sunday, 21 May

Senegal vs Japan, Group C

Israel vs Colombia, Group C

Italy vs Brazil, Group D

Nigeria vs Dominican Republic, Group D

Monday, 22 May

Uruguay vs Iraq, Group E

England vs Tunisia, Group E

France vs Republic of Korea, Group F

Gambia vs Honduras, Group F

Tuesday, 23 May

Argentina vs Guatemala, Group A

New Zealand vs Uzbekistan, Group A

United States vs Fiji, Group B

Slovakia vs Ecuador, Group B

Wednesday, 24 May

Senegal vs Israel, Group C

Colombia vs Japan, Group C

Italy vs Nigeria, Group D

Dominican Republic vs Brazil, Group D

Thursday, 25 May

Uruguay vs England, Group E

Tunisia vs Iraq, Group E

France vs Gambia, Group F

Honduras vs Republic of Korea, Group F

Friday, 26 May 2023

New Zealand vs Argentina, Group A

Uzbekistan vs Guatemala, Group A

Slovakia vs United States, Group B

Ecuador vs Fiji, Group B

Saturday, 27 May

Colombia vs Senegal, Group C

Japan vs Israel, Group C

Dominican Republic vs Italy, Group D

Brazil vs Nigeria, Group D

Sunday, 28 May

Tunisia vs Uruguay, Group E

Iraq vs England, Group E

Honduras vs France, Group F

Republic of Korea vs Gambia, Group F

Monday, 29 to Thursday, June 1

Round of 16 matches

Saturday, June 3 to Sunday, June 4


Thursday, June 8


Sunday, June 11


Photo credit: Alamy