Bitter rivals East Bengal and ATK Mohun Bagan will kickstart Durand Cup 2022 at the iconic Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata on August 16.

The 131st edition of the tournament will run until September 18 and will feature as many as 20 teams, including 11 teams from the Indian Super League, five from I-League and four from the Indian Armed Forces.

FC Goa, who are the defending champions, will begin their title defence against Mohammedan on August 19 in what will be a repeat of last year’s tournament final. Mohun Bagan and East Bengal have the richest history in the competition having won the tournament 16 times each.

Unlike the last edition, which was marred by COVID-19 restrictions, this year’s Durand Cup will be played across five venues and three different states, namely, Salt Lake Stadium, Naihati Stadium, Kishore Bharati Stadium (West Bengal), Khuman Lampak Stadium (Imphal, Manipur) and Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium (Guwahati, Assam).

Durand Cup 2022 teams and groups

Teams representing the Indian Super League are ATK Mohun Bagan, Bengaluru FC, Chennaiyin FC, East Bengal, FC Goa, Hyderabad FC, Jamshedpur FC, Kerala Blasters, Mumbai City FC, North East United and Odisha FC.

I-League’s representation will be carried out by Mohammedan, NEROCA, Rajasthan United, TRAU and Sudeva Delhi while Army Green, Army Red, Indian Air Force and Indian Navy will represent the Indian Armed Forces.

All these teams have been divided into four groups of five sides each. The groups are as follows:

Group A: Bengaluru FC, FC Goa, Indian Air Force, Jamshedpur FC and Mohammedan

Group B: ATK Mohun Bagan, East Bengal, Mumbai City, Indian Navy, Rajasthan United

Group C: Chennaiyin FC, Hyderabad FC, NEROCA, TRAU, Army Red

Group D: Kerala Blasters, Odisha FC, NorthEast United, Sudeva Delhi and Army Green

The Salt Lake Stadium, also known as the Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan will host a total of 10 league matches across the tournament followed by seven knockout matches.

On the other hand, Guwahati and Imphal will host one of the four groups with 10 matches each to be played at the venues.

Durand Cup 2021 full schedule and fixtures

Group A Fixtures

August 17- Jamshedpur vs Indian Air Force

August 19- Mohammedan vs FC Goa

August 21- Jamshedpur vs Bengaluru

August 23- FC Goa vs Indian Air Force

August 25- Bengaluru vs Mohammedan

August 27- Jamshedpur vs FC Goa

August 29- Bengaluru vs Indian Air Force

August 31- Jamshedpur vs Mohammedan

September 2- Bengaluru vs FC Goa

September 4- Mohammedan vs Indian Air Force

Group B fixtures

August 16- East Bengal vs ATK Mohun Bagan

August 18- Mumbai City vs Indian Navy

August 20- ATK Mohun Bagan vs Rajasthan United

August 22- East Bengal vs Mumbai City

August 24- ATK Mohun Bagan vs Indian Navy

August 26- East Bengal vs Rajasthan United

August 28- ATK Mohun Bagan vs Mumbai City

August 30- Rajasthan United vs Indian Navy

September 3- East Bengal vs Indian Navy

September 5- Mumbai City vs Rajasthan United

Group C fixtures

August 18- NEROCA vs TRAU

August 20- Chennaiyin vs Army Red

August 22- TRAU vs Hyderabad

August 24- Army Red vs NEROCA

August 26- Hyderabad vs Chennaiyin

August 28- TRAU vs Army Red

August 30- Hyderabad vs NEROCA

September 1- TRAU vs Chennaiyin

September 3- Army Red vs Hyderabad

September 5- NEROCA vs Chennaiyin

Group D fixtures

August 17- Odisha vs NorthEast United

August 19- Sudeva Delhi vs Kerala Blasters

August 21- NorthEast United vs Army Green

August 23- Odisha vs Kerala Blasters

August 25- Army Green vs Sudeva Delhi

August 27- NorthEast United vs Kerala Blasters

August 29- Odisha vs Sudeva Delhi

August 31- Kerala Blasters vs Army Green

September 2- NorthEast United vs Sudeva Delhi

September 4- Army Green vs Odisha

Where to watch Durand Cup 2022 live in India?

The live streaming of Durand Cup 2022 will be available on Sports18 on the Voot app.

Update on the live telecast of Durand Cup 2022 will be provided soon.

Play fantasy cricket with SportsAdda. Create your team, track your progress and win prizes. Start here.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Featured photo: Twitter / Durand Cup