The Calcutta Football League 2024 will start on Tuesday, June 25 with defending champions Mohammedan SC taking on Wari Athletic Club in the opening fixture.

As many as 26 teams will compete in a total of 196 matches in the 126th edition of the Calcutta Football League.

Considered to be the oldest league football competition in Asia, the Calcutta Football League witnessed the two top tiers, Premier A and Premier B, being merged to form an expanded league in the 2023 edition. A similar format will be followed in the CFL 2024.

Calcutta Football League 2024 teams, groups and format

As per the CFL 2024 format, the 26 teams have been divided into two groups of 13 sides each. Each team will play the other side in their group once in a round-robin format. 

The top three teams from each group will advance to the Super Six round to fight for the coveted championship. The bottom three-placed teams from each group will take part in the relegation round.

Mohammedan Sporting, Diamond Harbour FC, Kidderpore SC, BSS Sporting Club, Kalighat MS, Aryan Club, Army Red, New Alipore Suruchi Sangha, Southern Samity, Measurers Club, United SC, Wari AC and Pathachakra are the teams clubbed in Group A. 

On the other hand, Group B includes East Bengal FC, Mohun Bagan SG, Bhawanipore SC, Peerless SC, Customs, Police AC, Rainbow AC, Kalighat SLA, Railway FC, George Telegraph, Calcutta Police Club, Eastern Railway SC and Tollygunge Agragami. 

The CFL 2024 matches will be played across various venues in Kolkata.

Mohammedan SC are the three-time defending champions of the Calcutta Football League. Meanwhile, East Bengal are the most successful team in the tournament’s history with 39 titles, followed by arch-rivals Mohun Bagan with 30 trophies.

Where to watch Calcutta Football League 2024 live in India

Calcutta Football League 2024 matches will be telecast live on Zee 24 Ghanta TV channel.

Live streaming of the CFL 2024 will be available on the Zee5 app and website.

Calcutta Football League 2024 schedule and live match start times

All timings are in India Standard Time (IST)

Tuesday, June 25

Mohammedan SC vs Wari Athletic Club - 7:00 PM

Thursday, June 27

United Sports Club vs Diamond Harbour FC - 3:00 PM

Kidderpore SC vs Measurers Club - 3:00 PM

Southern Samity vs BSS Sporting Club - 3:00 PM

Kalighat Milan Sangha vs Suruchi Sangha - 3:00 PM

Army Red vs Aryan Club - 3:00 PM

Saturday, June 29

Police Athletic Club vs Bhawanipore Club - 3:00 PM

Eastern Railway SC vs Calcutta Police Club - 3:00 PM 

Railway Football Club vs Kalighat SLA - 3:00 PM 

George Telegraph vs Peerless SC - 3:00 PM 

Calcutta Customs Club vs Rainbow AC - 3:00 PM 

Sunday, June 30

East Bengal vs Tollygunge Agragami - 3:00 PM

Photo credit: Alamy