The Calcutta Football League 2023 started on Sunday, June 25 with Diamond Harbour facing Southern Samity in the opening fixture.

For the first time since its inception in 1898, as many as 26 teams are featuring in the 125th edition of the Calcutta Football League.

Considered to be the oldest league football competition in Asia, the 2023 edition of the Calcutta Football League has witnessed the two top tiers, Premier A and Premier B,  being merged to form an expanded league.

As per the new format, the 26 teams have been divided into two groups of 13 sides each. Each team will play the other side in their group once in a round-robin format. 

The top three teams from each group will advance to the Super Six round to fight for the coveted championship. The bottom three-placed teams from each group will take part in the relegation round.

Army Red, Calcutta FC, Dalhousie AC, Diamond Harbour FC, FCI (East Zone), Kalighat MS, Mohammedan Sporting, Mohun Bagan SG, Pathachakra, Peerless, Southern Samity, Tollygunge Agragami and United are the 13 teams clubbed in Group A. 

On the other hand, Group B includes Aryan, Bhawanipore, Wari, George Telegraph, Kidderpore, East Bengal, Railway, West Bengal Police FC, Calcutta Customs, Rainbow, Eastern Railway, BSS and Police AC.

Mohammedan SC are the two-time defending champions of the Calcutta Football League.

East Bengal are the most successful team in the tournament’s history with 39 titles, followed by arch-rivals Mohun Bagan with 30 trophies.

Where to watch Calcutta Football League 2023 live in India?

Live streaming of Calcutta Football League 2023 will be available on the app in India.

There is no live telecast of Calcutta Football League 2023 on any TV channel in India.

Calcutta Football League 2023 Round 1 schedule and live India match times

Sunday, June 25

Diamond Harbour vs Southern Samity - 7:00 PM

Wednesday, June 28 

Peerless vs Calcutta FC - 3:30 PM

Kalighat MS vs FCI (East Zone) - 3:30 PM

Dalhousie vs Tollygunge Agragami - 3:30 PM

Saturday, July 1

Aryan vs Police AC - 3:30 PM

George Telegraph vs Rainbow - 3:30 PM

BSS vs Wari - 3:30 PM

Eastern Railway vs Bhawanipore - 3:30 PM

Kidderpore vs Calcutta Customs - 3:30 PM

Wednesday, July 5

Mohun Bagan SG vs Pathachakra - 3:30 PM

Wednesday, July 12

Diamond Harbour vs Army Red - 3:30 PM

Friday, July 14

Eastern Railway vs Railway FC - 3:30 PM

Monday, July 17

East Bengal vs West Bengal Police - 3:30 PM


Mohammedan Sporting vs United - 3:30 PM

Photo credit: Alamy