The Ballon d'Or 2023 award ceremony was hosted at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris, France on Tuesday, October 31.

Organised by France Football, the 67th edition of the Ballon d'Or recognised the best footballers in the world in the 2022-23 season.

For the second time in the history of the Ballon d'Or, the award was given based on the results of the season instead of the calendar year, with the season starting on August 1, 2022 and concluding on July 31, 2023. 

Besides the Ballon d'Or men's award,  the Ballon d'Or Féminin, the Kopa Trophy, the Yashin Trophy, the Socrates Award, the Gerd Müller Trophy and the Club of the Year awards were also given out.

Ballon d'Or 2023

Lionel Messi pipped Erling Haaland and Kylian Mbappé to win a record-extending eighth Ballon d'Or.

The 36-year-old guided the Argentina national football team to the FIFA World Cup 2022 title after beating France on penalties in the final.

La Albiceleste clinched their third FIFA World Cup title and their first since 1986.

Messi finished with seven goals and three assists to claim the Golden Ball for best overall player at the FIFA World Cup 2022 in Qatar.

Having won his first Ballon d’Or in 2009, Messi later bagged the award in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021 and now in 2023.

Ballon d'Or Feminin

Spain and Barcelona midfielder Aitana Bonmatí won the Ballon d'Or Feminin for the first time in her career.

Aitana Bonmatí succeeded her Barcelona and international teammate Alexia Putellas, who won the Ballon d'Or Feminin in 2021 and 2022.

The 25-year-old earlier helped Spain bag their maiden FIFA Women’s World Cup title in Australia and New Zealand. She also won the Golden Ball award at the tournament.

Bonmatí also guided Barcelona to win La Liga and a second Champions League title. It helped her earn the UEFA Player of the Season award in August.

Kopa Trophy

England and Real Madrid star Jude Bellingham won the Kopa Trophy for the best Under-21 player. 

Regarded as one of the brightest young talents in the world at the moment, Bellingham has hit the ground running with his new club Real Madrid after enjoying a strong campaign with his former club Borussia Dortmund last season.  

Gerd Muller Trophy

Erling Haaland clinched the Gerd Muller Trophy at the Ballon d'Or 2023 ceremony after powering Manchester City to the treble with the help of his goal-scoring exploits.

The young forward netted 56 goals for Manchester City and Norway to finish as the highest-scoring male player in the 2022-23 season. 

Yachine Trophy

Argentina’s Emiliano Martinez won the Yachine Trophy for being the best goalkeeper in the world at the Ballon d'Or 2023 ceremony.

The Aston Villa goalkeeper played a pivotal role in helping Argentina claim the FIFA World Cup 2022 title in Qatar.

Martinez recorded three clean sheets and also made three crucial penalty saves in the marquee tournament.

The 31-year-old also produced an incredible save to deny France’s Randal Kolo Muani from scoring a winner in the final seconds of extra time in the FIFA World Cup 2022 final.

Sócrates Award

Brazil and Real Madrid forward Vinicius Junior was awarded the Sócrates Award for starting a foundation that is building schools in impoverished areas and investing in education in Brazil.

Club of the Year

Manchester City won the men’s Club of the Year award at the Ballon d’Or 2023. 

Under manager Pep Guardiola, City won the treble in the 2022-23 season, including the Premier League, FA Cup and the UEFA Champions League title.

Meanwhile, FC Barcelona Femení was recognised as the women’s Club of the Year at the marquee event.

FC Barcelona Femení was the standout team, having won three titles last season - Liga F, the Spanish Super Cup and the Women's Champions League. Know the Ballon d'Or 2023 winners list.

Ballon d'Or 2023 winners list



Ballon d'Or

Lionel Messi (Inter Miami, Argentina)

Ballon d'Or Feminin

Aitana Bonmatí (FC Barcelona Femení, Spain)

Kopa Trophy for the best male U-21 player

Jude Bellingham

Yachine Trophy for the best male goalkeeper

Emiliano Martínez (Aston Villa, Argentina)

Gerd Müller Trophy for the highest-scoring male striker

Erling Haaland (Manchester City, Norway)

Sócrates Award to acknowledge humanitarian work

Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid, Brazil)

Club of the Year

Manchester City and FC Barcelona Femení

Photo credit: Alamy