The UEFA Super Cup is an annual continental cup competition which is contested between the winners of the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League.

First contested in 1973, the competition was played between the winners of the European Cup/UEFA Champions League and the winners of the European/UEFA Cup Winners' Cup until 1999. 

However, following the discontinuation of the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup, it was staged between the winners of the UEFA Champions League and the winners of the UEFA Cup, which was rebranded to the UEFA Europa League in 2009.

Between 1973 and 1997, the competition was played in a two-legged format, with the matches played at the teams’ respective home grounds. It was later changed to a single-match format at a neutral venue in 1998.

Between 1998 and 2012, the UEFA Super Cup was held at Stade Louis II in Monaco but since the 2013 edition, it has been played at different stadiums across Europe.

UEFA Super Cup records

Most wins (by clubs): La Liga sides Real Madrid and Barcelona and Serie A giants AC Milan have won the joint-most UEFA Super Cup titles (5). Barcelona, meanwhile, have also ended as the runners-up on four occasions meaning that they have made the most appearances in this super clash between Europe’s best sides.

Most wins (by nations): Teams from Spanish La Liga hold the record for winning the most number of UEFA Super Cup titles, having done so on a whopping 16 occasions. This includes wins from Barcelona, Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, Valencia and Sevilla.

Most wins (by players): The Real Madrid quartet of Karim Benzema, Dani Carvajal and Toni Kroos, former Barcelona defender Dani Alves and legendary Milan captain Paolo Maldini have won the UEFA Super Cup four times. 

Most wins (by managers): Carlo Ancelotti holds the record for winning the UEFA Super Cup the most times as a manager. The Italian tactician has won it four times (twice each with AC Milan and Real Madrid) in his career.

Most goals: As many as nine different players have scored three goals in the UEFA Super Cup, which to date, remains a record. 

The list of players include Oleh Blokhin (Dynamo Kyiv), David Fairclough (Liverpool), Radamel Falcao (Atlético de Madrid), Arie Haan (Ajax, Anderlecht), Terry McDermott (Liverpool), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Gerd Muller (Bayern Munich), Rob Rensenbrink (Anderlecht), Francois Van der Elst (Anderlecht)

Most appearances (by player): Milan’s Alessandro Costacurta and Roberto Donadoni hold the joint record for making the most appearances in the UEFA Super Cup (8).

UEFA Super Cup winners list

Year Winner Runners-up
1973 Ajax Milan
1975 Dynamo Kyiv Bayern Munich
1976 Anderlecht Bayern Munich
1977 Liverpool Hamburger
1978 Anderlecht Liverpool
1979 Nottingham Forest Barcelona
1980 Valencia Nottingham Forest
1982 Aston Villa Barcelona
1983 Aberdeen Hamburger
1984 Juventus Liverpool
1986 Steaua Bucuresti Dynamo Kyiv
1987 Porto Ajax
1988 Mechelen PSV Eindhoven
1989 Milan Barcelona
1990 Milan Sampdoria
1991 Manchester United Red Star Belgrade
1992 Barcelona Werden Bremen
1993 Parma Milan
1994 Milan Arsenal
1995 Ajax Zaragosa
1996 Juventus Paris-Saint Germain
1997 Barcelona Borussia Dortmund
1998 Chelsea Real Madrid
1999 Lazio Manchester United
2000 Galatasaray Real Madrid
2001 Liverpool Bayern Munich
2002 Real Madrid Feyenoord
2003 Milan Porto
2004 Valencia Porto
2005 Liverpool CSKA Moscow
2006 Sevilla Barcelona
2007 Milan Sevilla
2008 Zenit St Petersburg Manchester United
2009 Barcelona Shakhtar Donetsk
2010 Atletico Madrid Inter
2011 Barcelona Porto
2012 Atletico Madrid Chelsea
2013 Bayern Munich Chelsea
2014 Real Madrid Sevilla
2015 Barcelona Sevilla
2016 Real Madrid Sevilla
2017 Real Madrid Manchester United
2018 Atletico Madrid Real Madrid
2019 Liverpool Chelsea
2020 Bayern Munich Sevilla
2021 Chelsea Villarreal
2022 Real Madrid Eintracht Frankfurt

Featured photo: AFP / Paul Ellis