The Indian Super League has seen some breathtaking goals since it's inception in 2014 and these players have managed to win the Golden Boot.

Article Detail

The Indian Super League, since its inception in 2014, has not only attracted names like Diego Forlan, Nicolas Anelka, Tim Cahill, Robbie Keane, but has also delivered some of the most breathtaking moments in Indian football.

From scintillating goals to individual brilliance, the league has had its fair share of masterclass over the years, and it is safe to say the only way from here is up. Since the inaugural season, the league has had as many as three champions, with ATK and Chennaiyin FC winning the cup twice, while Bengaluru FC emerging victorious once.

Having said that, we dive into the years gone by and take a look at who top-scored each Indian Super League season since 2014.

2014: Elano

The first-ever season of the Indian Super League kicked off with a bang. With as many as eight teams in line for the title, the likes of Kerala Blasters, Chennaiyin FC, ATK and FC Goa made it to the semi-finals. Chennaiyin FC, in particular, were riding high on confidence and the man behind the trait was the former Manchester City midfielder, Elano. It didn’t take long for the Brazilian to make his mark in the tournament as he scored from a free-kick on his debut against Goa.

In 11 games played, Elano ended up scoring as many as eight goals and won the Golden Boot of the inaugural season.

2015: Stiven Mendoza

Having already played a season with Chennai in 2014, striker Stiven Mendoza returned to the Indian shores in 2015, this time on loan from Corinthians. The move worked wonders as the forward went on to score 13 goals in 16 games at a rate of 0.81 goals per game. Riding on the back of his superb form, Chennai lifted their first-ever Indian Super League title by defeating FC Goa 3-2 in the final.

2016: Marcelinho

Marcelinho has been an absolute revelation since coming into the ISL. His first stint came with Delhi Dynamos, and under the management of the former World Cup winner, Gianluca Zambrotta, the Brazilian scored 10 goals in 15 appearances, netting an impressive 0.6 goals per game.

2017-18: Ferran Corominas

Former Espanyol forward, Ferran Corominas set a benchmark since joining FC Goa in 2017, and it didn’t take him long to assert his authority. Riding on his breathtaking scoring run, Goa made it to semi-finals but failed to move beyond. As for the Spaniard, he ended his season with a whopping 18 goals in 20 appearances.

2018-19: Ferran Corominas

Given Coro’s age, many considered him as a one-season wonder. Defying odds in style though, the Spaniard went on to bag his second consecutive Golden Boot award in the 2018-19 season by scoring 16 goals in 20 appearances. This time, Goa did make it to the final, but came out as the second-best against Bengaluru FC.

Feature image courtesy: AFP / Manjunath Kiran