Egyptian footballer Mohamed Salah completed the fastest hat-trick in UEFA Champions League in 2022.

Playing for Liverpool, Salah netted the fastest UCL treble in just six minutes against Rangers FC during a Group A encounter in the 2022-23 season. 

The Liverpool superstar came in as a substitute in the 68th minute and ended the match with a hat-trick to help Liverpool secure a massive 7-1 over Rangers FC in the group stage encounter of the 2022–23 UEFA Champions League. 

Salah scored in 76th, 80th and 81st minute of the match to etch his name into the UEFA Champions League history books, rounding off an incredible victory for Liverpool.


Former France striker Bafetimbi Gomis scored the second-fastest hat-trick in UEFA Champions League history. Gomis netted a hat-trick for Lyon in just eight minutes during a 7-1 drubbing of Dinamo Zagreb in a Group D encounter of the 2011-12 season. 

Former Blackburn Rovers striker Mike Newell scored the third-fastest hat-trick in UEFA Champions League history. The Liverpool-born footballer netted a perfect hat-trick - left foot, right root and header - for Blackburn in just nine minutes during a 4-1 win over Rosenborg in 1995. It is still the quickest perfect hat trick scored in Europe’s biggest club competition.

Former Manchester City forward Raheem Sterling is fourth on the list for fastest UCL trebles having netted thrice in 11 minutes during a 5-1 win against Atalanta in the 2019-20 UEFA Champions League group stage.

Former Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo and Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski complete the list for fastest hat-tricks in UEFA Champions League.

While Ronaldo scored an 11-minute hat-trick for Real in an 8-0 annihilation of Malmo in 2015, former Bayern star Lewandowski bagged a hat-trick in 11 minutes in a 7-1 thrashing of FC Salzburg during the second leg of a Champions League 2021-22 round of 16 clash.

Fastest hat-trick in UEFA Champions League

Player Time
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool) 6 minutes
Bafetimbi Gomis (Lyon) 8 minutes
Mike Newell (Blackburn) 9 minutes
Raheem Sterling (Manchester City) 11 minutes
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) 11 minutes
Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich) 11 minutes