Developed by Riot Games, League of Legends is one of the most popular multiplayer online battle arena video games in the world.

The crowning event of League of Legends known as League of Legends World Championship 2023 is all set to begin on October, 10 in South Korea.

As many as 22 teams from across the world will be competing at the League of Legends World Championship 2023. 

The upcoming tournament is also known as LoL Worlds 2023 and will be using a Swiss Format this year, which will be replacing the Group Stage from last year.

League of Legends World Championship 2023 dates and schedule



Play-in Round 1

October 10-14

Play-in Round 2

October 15


October 19-23 and 26-29


November 2-5, November 11-12 and November 19

As far as the format of LoL Worlds 2023 goes, the 22 teams that qualified for the showpiece event from various regional qualifiers will kickstart the action on October 10 in Play-In Round 1.

In Play-In Round 1, eight teams will be divided into two groups and they play a Double Elimination bracket with all matches being a best-of-three format. After the teams compete against each other in this round, the top two teams will progress to Play-In Round 2, while the bottom two teams will be eliminated.

Moving on to Play-In Round 2, four teams from Play-In Round 1 will be in action. Here, the upper bracket winner from each group will square off against the lower bracket winners from the other group in a best-of-five format. The two winners from this round will advance to the Swiss round.

In the Swiss round stage, two teams from the Play-In Stage will join 14 teams with direct qualification to this stage from China, South Korea, North America, and Europe. The 16 Team Swiss System Format will witness Round 1 teams paired against teams from different regions whereas Rounds 2 to 5 will be seeded depending on each team's win-loss record. 

Elimination and qualification matches will be on the basis of the best-of-three format, while all other games will be best-of-one. Teams that get three wins in the Swiss stage move on to the Knockout Stage, while those that lose three are eliminated.

During the Swiss Stage, team selection will depend on the initial draw pool where the higher pool receives side selection.

In games between teams in the same draw pool, team selection will be decided by a coin flip.

Meanwhile, the last stage of LoL Worlds 2023, known as the Knockout Stage will pit eight teams in a single elimination bracket. Teams with the privilege of Side Selection can choose the side in game 1, but thereafter the losing team gets to decide the side in the next game.

The quarter-final structure in the knockouts is yet to be finalised, but what is pre-determined in this stage is that all games will be on the basis of a best of five, and side selection privileges in this stage will be based on a coin flip.

All qualified teams for League of Legends World Championship 2023

  • Gen.G (Swiss Stage)
  • T1 (Swiss Stage)
  • KT Rolster (Swiss Stage)
  • Dplus (Swiss Stage)
  • Cloud9 (Swiss Stage)
  • NRG (Swiss Stage)
  • Team Liquid (Swiss Stage)
  • JD Gaming (Swiss Stage)
  • Bilibili Gaming (Swiss Stage)
  • LNG Esports (Swiss Stage)
  • Weibo Gaming (Swiss Stage)
  • MAD Lions (Swiss Stage)
  • G2 Esports (Swiss Stage)
  • Fnatic (Swiss Stage)
  • Team BDS (Play-In)
  • LOUD (Play-In)
  • GAM Esports (Play-In)
  • Team Whales (Play-In)
  • PSG Talon (Play-In)
  • CTBC Flying Oyster (Play-In)
  • DetonatioN FocusMe (Play-In)
  • Rainbow7 (Play-In)

Where to watch League of Legends World Championship 2023 live?

Live streaming of the League of Legends World Championship 2023 will be available on the official YouTube and Twitch channels of the game. 

Additionally, LoL Worlds 2023 can also be streamed live on the  

Photo credit: Alamy