The Esports World Cup 2024, a multi-game esports event, will be staged in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.

Organised by the Esports World Cup Foundation, the inaugural Esports World Cup 2024 is set to boast the largest prize pool in eSports history and will see teams battle across games from various genres to become world champion. The Esports World Cup will be replacing Gamers8, a renowned eSports festival staged in Saudi Arabia. 

The marquee event will feature 20 events in 19 different video game titles.

Esports World Cup 2024 start date

The Esports World Cup 2024 will start on July 4 and run till August 24 in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.

The eight-week eSports World Cup will see top players from around the world compete to be crowned world champions in their respective games while eSports clubs will battle for ultimate team glory.

Esports World Cup 2024 participating titles

The Esports World Cup 2024 will feature 20 events in 19 different video game titles and they are:

  • Apex Legends
  • Counter-Strike 2
  • Dota 2
  • EA Sports FC 24
  • Fortnite
  • Free Fire
  • Honor of Kings
  • League of Legends
  • Mobile Legends: Bang Bang
  • Overwatch 2
  • PUBG Battleground
  • PUBG Mobile
  • Tom Clancy’s Rainbow 6 Siege
  • ESL R1
  • Rocket League
  • StarCraft II
  • Street Fighter 6
  • Teamfight Tactics
  • TEKKEN 8

The organisers are expected to add more competitions to this list.

Esports World Cup 2024 format

The cross-game competitive event, named the Club Championship, will award USD 20 million to the top 16 teams based on their overall performance.

The eSports clubs that have excelled in all the titles they have competed in after eight weeks of competition will be awarded the title of world’s first Esports World Cup Club champion.

With the Club Championship offering USD 20 million, the three remaining categories - Game Championships, MVP awards and Qualifiers will consume the rest of the USD 40 million.

Each of the 20 Game Championships will have a combined prize pool of over USD 33 million. Teams will compete for more than USD 7 million during qualifying events, and the MVP of each event will be awarded $50,000.

Esports World Cup 2024 total prize pool

The Esports World Cup 2024 will have the largest prize pool in eSports history at over USD 60 million.

This will be the largest prize pool ever awarded at an eSports event, breaking the previous record of USD 45 million set by Gamers8: The Land of Heroes in 2023.

Photo credit: Alamy