The inaugural Esports World Cup 2024 will be held in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.

Hosted by the Esports World Cup Foundation, the marquee event is set to boast the largest prize pool in eSports history and will see teams battle across games from various genres to become world champion. The Esports World Cup will be replacing Gamers8, a renowned eSports festival staged in Saudi Arabia. 

As many as 20 different competitions across titles such as League of Legends, Fortnite, DOTA 2, FIFA 23, Rainbow Six Siege, PUBG Mobile, Starcraft I and others were contested in the previous edition of Gamers8.

Esports World Cup 2024 start date

The first-ever Esports World Cup 2024 will start in July in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.

“First-person and tactical shooters are a cornerstone of gaming and esports and played by billions internationally. We’re bringing together all the best games to connect an unprecedented variety of global communities. We’re excited to have them participate in this first-of-its-kind event,” Esports World Cup Foundation CEO Ralf Reichert said in an interview.

Esports World Cup 2024 games list

Here are all the games that will be contested in the Esports World Cup 2024. 

  • Overwatch 2
  • DOTA 2
  • Fortnite
  • PUBG
  • StarCraft 2
  • Counter-Strike 2
  • Garena Free Fire
  • PUBG Mobile
  • Honor of Kings
  • Mobile Legends: Bang Bang 
  • Rainbow Six Siege
  • Rocket League

Esports World Cup 2024 total prize pool

The Esports World Cup 2024 will reportedly feature a total prize pool of somewhere between $30 and $50 million. It is expected to rival DOTA 2’s The International. 

In conclusion, the Esports World Cup will offer opportunities for countries such as Canada, Brazil, South Korea, India and more to promote global diversity within competitive, professional gaming. 

Photo credit: Alamy