Battlegrounds Mobile India (BGMI) is one of the most in-demand battle royale games in India.

Developed and published by South Korean video game company Krafton, BGMI is an online multiplayer battle royale game that was first released for Android devices on July 2, 2021. It was later launched for iOS users on August 18, 2021.

While BGMI has over 100 million downloads on Google Play store, it was banned by the Indian government in July 2022 citing security concerns. The ban was later removed in May 2023.

As many as 100 gamers can compete in the Indian version of PUBG Mobile. The one who survives in the TPP-FPP survival shooter game is the winner. Individuals or a team of up to four gamers can play a match in BGMI.

Each BGMI game begins with gamers parachuting from a plane onto one of the following seven maps:

  • Erangel (Themed / Normal)
  • Miramar
  • Vikendi
  • Livik (Themed / Normal)
  • Karakin
  • Sanhok
  • Nusa

Additionally, several top Tier-1 eSports players have competed in the high-profile BGMI tournaments hosted in India.

The likes of Sahil Jakhar (Omega), Harsh Paudwal (Goblin), Arjun Mandhalkar (ShadowOG), Saumya Raj (Saumraj) and Jonathan Amaral (Jonathan Gaming) have excelled in BGMI eSports tournaments.

Meanwhile, few BGMI teams have established themselves by winning numerous titles in the circuit. Know the list of best BGMI teams

Best BGMI team: Know the top Battlegrounds Mobile India organisations

Team SouL

Team SouL has been one of the most dominant BGMI teams based in India. Owned and led by MortaL, Thug and Goldy, Team SouL came into existence as an outcome of an alliance between 8Bit and Team SouL. Having competed in numerous BGMI tournaments under the parent company S8UL Esports, Team SouL has won a total prize money of approximately $425,242. The popular BGMI team has won several tournaments including PUBG Mobile India Series 2019, PUBG Mobile Club Open - Spring Split: India, Pro Warrior Cup S2: Conquest Round, Battlegrounds Mobile India Pro Series - Season 1, OS Invitational Season 1 and Battle For Revolution Season 2. Naman Sandeep Mathur (MortaL), Siddhant Joshi (Sid), Aman Jain (AMAN), Rahul (Ayogi) and Shubham Chawla (Mayavi) are some of the active members of the team.

Gladiator Esports

Indian BGMI organisation Gladiator Esports has hogged the limelight with his impressive performances in recent times. Gladiator Esports was founded just before the start of Battlegrounds Mobile India Masters Series (BGMS) Season 2 2023 and has already made a mark in the competitive circuit. The Indian eSports outfit has already clinched a few BGMI tournaments including Nodwin BGMI Champions Cup, India Today League Invitationals, BGMI Masters Series Season 2 and Battlegrounds Mobile India Series 2023. It has finished runners-up in Upthrust Survivors Saga Season 2, Upthrust Esports Challengers Showdown and Battlegrounds Mobile India Pro Series 2023. In a short span of time, Gladiator Esports has accumulated a total prize money of $276,703. Some of the active members of the team are Kartik, Punith Kumar TS and Zala Dharmdipsinh Ghanshyamsinh.

GodLike Esports

GodLike Esports is one of the most successful BGMI teams since the inception of the  battle royale game in 2021. Founded by Kronten and Omkar, GodLike Esports won their maiden BGMI title after they clinched the Fighting League 2018 - India. Since then, they have won several BGMI tournaments including PUBG Mobile Club Open - Spring Split 2020: India, Gamers Without Borders 2020: Asia in 2020, Skyesports Championship 3.0, Ranbhoomi Season 1, LOCO War of Glory: Grand Finals in 2021 and the IQOO Pro Series in 2023. Jonathan Amaral, Suraj Nityanand Majumdar,Abhishek Choudhary, Gunjan Thakur, Aditya Mathe, Mac and Nishant are some of the active members of the team. GodLike Esports has a total prize money of $215,523 till date.

Blind Esports

Blind Esports has been one of the consistent Battlegrounds Mobile India teams since the unban of BGMI in May 2023. Formed in April 2019, Blind Esports has participated in multiple BGMI tournaments and has bagged a total prize money of $202,344. The Indian based eSports organisation has won numerous tournaments including Villager Esports DOMIN8R Series, Skyesports Champions Series, Upthrust Esports Challengers Showdown, Lidoma Battleground Invitational, Revenant Invitational Showdown, Skyesports Championship 5.0 and Battlegrounds Mobile India Pro Series 2023 in 2023. Aadi, Darklord, Harsh, Jazzy and Skipz are some of the active members of the current team.

Photo credit: Alamy