Over the years the Indian T20 League has seen some edge of the seat thrillers. Some of them have left one section of the fans high and dry as opposition teams manage to eke out a win at the last second. Here we look at some of them.

2014 - Mumbai vs Rajasthan (winner: Mumbai)

This has to be the greatest finish ever in an Indian T20 League game. With qualification to the playoffs on the line, Rajasthan and Mumbai played out a stunner of a game. Having opted to bowl, Mumbai needed to reach the target in 14.3 overs to go ahead of Rajasthan on net run rate and qualify to the playoff. Corey Anderson slammed 95 in 44 balls but when Ambati Rayudu was run out, the game appeared lost for Mumbai. But a boundary could still win it for Mumbai and Aditya Tare smashed his first ball for six to win it for Mumbai. 

2018 - Chennai vs Kolkata (winner: Chennai)

An incredible late blitz from Andre Russell nearly gave Kolkata an extraordinary win against Chennai in 2018. Russell hit 88* in 36 balls with 11 maximums to take Kolkata to a 200-plus total while batting first. Chennai, though, didn't give up and with 17 to win in the final over, Jadeja and Dwayne Bravo took Chennai to an incredible win. Bravo hit Vinay Kumar's first ball of the final over - a no-ball - for a six before the Indian all-rounder smashed a six off the penultimate ball to win the game for Chennai.

2017 Final - Mumbai vs Pune (winner: Mumbai)

The 2017 Indian T20 League final was an absolute humdinger, with Pune coming second-best by a whisker against Mumbai. At 79/7, Mumbai's title hopes had all but vanished. But Krunal Pandya, alongside Mitchell Johnson, kept them in the game. At 129/8, Mumbai were well below par in setting a good total but it was Johnson's night and the Australian pacer defended seven runs off the last five balls, dismissing Steven Smith and Manoj Tiwary to win it for Mumbai.

2019 Final - Mumbai vs Chennai (winner: Mumbai)

Last year’s Indian T20 League final saw one of the best ever finishes to the game. A game that appeared gone for Mumbai was salvaged by some outstanding death bowling from Lasith Malinga and Jasprit Bumrah. With just 150 to defend, an 80 from Shane Watson had swung the game Chennai's way. However, Chennai lost Bravo and Watson in the final few deliveries as Bumrah and Malinga took the game to the wire. With two needed off one ball, Malinga had Shardul Thakur trapped in front to win the game and title by a run for Mumbai. 

Feature image courtesy: AFP / Noah Seelam