Days after joining the Global T20 in Canada, former India international, Yuvraj Singh is well on course to play the Euro T20 Slam, which will be played in Ireland, Netherlands and Scotland, starting from August 30 to September 22.

Speaking about the 2011 World Cup winner, former Australian cricketer Dean Jones, who happens to be one of the board members of Euro T20 Slam advisory committee, confirmed Yuvraj’s intend and added that there are other Indian players who can join the league as well.

“There are a few things going on in Indian cricket and since BCCI is not giving permission to take part in foreign T20 leagues, some Indian cricketers are announcing retirement so they can be free to play anywhere they want,” Jones told CricketNext.

“Yuvraj Singh is one of them and he’s confirmed to us his interest to join the Euro T20 Slam.

“India is going to be a big market for us. It’s T20 cricket and who can be a bigger draw than Yuvraj Singh in this format. We are hoping to sign up a couple of more Indian players in the next couple of weeks before the drafts for the league takes place in London on July 19. Keep watching this space,” Jones added.

Meanwhile, Punjab’s medium-pacer Manpreet Gony recently announced his retirement from Indian cricket and was named in Toronto Nationals’ squad for the league for the Global T20 Canada. Apart from these two Indians, several other stars like Dale Steyn, Andre Russell, Imrahn Tahir and AB de Villiers are expected to be the part of the Euro T20 Slam.

“Steyn and Russell might be part of the league. The games in the league will not get underway till end of August. That is enough time for the both of them to recover from their respective injuries. We are trying to finalise deals with both Steyn and Russell.

“De Villiers’ intended deal with the Big Bash League didn’t go through but for now he has committed to this league. He has his commitments with Middlesex for England’s T20 League, but we are hoping he will be available for Euro T20 slam as well,” Jones added.

A total of six teams – two teams each from Ireland, Scotland and Netherlands, will play in an almost-month long tournament.

Feature image courtesy: Twitter / @Devendra_1925