The Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 schedule was announced by the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Sunday, May 5.

The ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2024 will be the ninth edition of the tournament to be held in Bangladesh from October 3-20.

As many as 10 teams will compete for the Women’s T20 World Cup 2024.

Bangladesh have automatically qualified for the marquee T20 tournament being the hosts while the likes of Australia, England, India, South Africa, New Zealand and West Indies secured their berths based on their performance in the Women's T20 World Cup 2023.

Meanwhile, Pakistan qualified as the next highest ranked team while Scotland and Sri Lanka booked their slots via Women's T20 World Cup Qualifier.

As per the Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 schedule, these participating teams have been divided into two groups of five teams each. 

A total of 23 matches will be played in the upcoming Women’s T20 World Cup across 19 days in Dhaka and Sylhet, with reserve days in place for both semi-finals and the final should they be required.

Group A features arch-rivals India, Pakistan, New Zealand, defending champions Australia and either Sri Lanka or Scotland as Qualifier 1.

Hosts Bangladesh, South Africa, England, West Indies and yet-to-be-identified Qualifier 2 team (Sri Lanka/Scotland) are clubbed in Group B.

England will take on South Africa in the Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 opener in Dhaka on October 3.

The Indian’s women’s cricket team will begin their campaign against New Zealand in Sylhet on October 4.

The much-anticipated India vs Pakistan Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 clash will be played in Sylhet on October 6.

India will take on Qualifier 1 in Sylhet on October 9 before playing their final Group A match against defending champions Australia on October 13.

Australia will start their Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 campaign against Qualifier 1 on October 4.

As per the format, each team will play four group matches in the tournament before the top two sides advance to the semifinals, which will be held on October 17 and 18 ahead of the Women’s T20 World Cup final in Dhaka on October 20.

Australia beat South Africa by 19 runs in the Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 final in Cape Town to clinch their sixth title. They have won the Women’s T20 World Cup on six occasions in 2010, 2012, 2014, 2018, 2020 and 2023.

Apart from Australia, England won the Women’s T20 World Cup in 2009 while West Indies bagged the title in 2016.

Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 teams and groups

Group A: Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka / Scotland

Group B: South Africa, England, West Indies, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka / Scotland

Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 schedule, fixtures and venues

Thursday, October 3: England v South Africa, Dhaka

Thursday, October 3: Bangladesh v Qualifier 2, Dhaka

Friday, October 4: Australia v Qualifier 1, Sylhet

Friday, October 4: India v New Zealand, Sylhet

Saturday, October 5: South Africa v West Indies, Dhaka

Saturday, October 5: Bangladesh v England, Dhaka

Sunday, October 6: New Zealand v Qualifier 1, Sylhet

Sunday, October 6: India v Pakistan, Sylhet

Monday, October 7: West Indies v Qualifier 2, Dhaka

Tuesday, October 8: Australia v Pakistan, Sylhet

Wednesday, October 9: Bangladesh v West Indies, Dhaka

Wednesday, October 9: India v Qualifier 1, Sylhet

Thursday, October 10: South Africa v Qualifier 2, Dhaka

Friday, October 11: Australia v New Zealand, Sylhet

Friday, October 11: Pakistan v Qualifier 1, Sylhet

Saturday, October 12: England v West Indies, Dhaka

Saturday, October 12: Bangladesh v South Africa, Dhaka

Sunday, October 13: Pakistan v New Zealand, Sylhet

Sunday, October 13: India v Australia, Sylhet

Monday, October 14: England v Qualifier 2, Dhaka 

Thursday, October 17: Semi-final 1, Sylhet

Friday, October 18: Semi-final 2, Dhaka

Sunday, October 20: Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 final, Dhaka

Photo credit: Alamy