The fourth edition of the Women’s T20 Challenge will be held in Lucknow from May 24 to 28, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president Sourav Ganguly announced on Sunday, April 23.

Also known as the Women’s Indian T20 League, the tournament has been held every year since its inception in 2018. However, the BCCI was forced to cancel the 2021 edition of the Women’s T20 Challenge owing to the COVID-19 pandemic in the country.

As has been the norm in the previous editions, the Women’s T20 Challenge 2022 will also be a three-team affair.

All the matches of the Women’s T20 Challenge 2022 will be played at Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow.

While the Trailblazers are the defending champions of the Women’s T20 Challenge, the Supernovas are the most successful side in the tournament having won the title twice in 2018 and 2019.

Apart from the Trailblazers and the Supernovas, the Velocity are the third franchise that has been part of the tournament since the last three seasons.

During the 2020 edition of Women’s T20 League, Smriti Mandhana was named the captain of the Trailblazers while Harmanpreet Kaur led the Supernovas. Meanwhile, India cricket legend Mithali Raj captained the Velocity franchise.

The Trailblazers defeated the Supernovas by 16 runs in the final of the previous edition of Women’s T20 Challenge.

Several Indian women cricketers including Smriti Mandhana and Jemimah Rodrigues have requested the BCCI to conduct a full-fledged Women’s Indian T20 League.

In March 2022, the BCCI announced that the franchise-based annual women’s T20 tournament will begin next year comprising six teams.

Play fantasy cricket with SportsAdda. Create your team, track your progress and win prizes. Start here.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites

Featured photo: BCCI