After an exhilarating Men’s Asia Cup 2022 that saw Sri Lanka emerge victorious, the Women's T20 Asia Cup 2022 is all set to get underway from October 1, 2022, in Bangladesh.

While the initial four Women's Asia Cups (2004 to 2008) were held in ODI format, all the editions that followed (2012 to present day) have been played in the T20I format.

India Women have a history of domination in this competition as they have won every Women’s Asia cup barring the previous one, where they, unfortunately, lost to Bangladesh in the final. 

The inaugural Women’s Asia Cup, held in the ODI format, took place in Sri Lanka back in 2004. Only two teams, India Women and Sri Lanka Women participated in the edition. Five ODI matches were played at Sinhalese Sports Club Ground and Kandy Cricket Club.

The Indian women’s cricket team whitewashed Sri Lanka women 5-0 to win their maiden Women’s Asia Cup title. India’s Anjum Chopra was adjudged the player of the tournament.

Women’s Asia Cup 2005-06 held in Pakistan, saw the team count go up by 1 as Pakistan Women joined India Women and Sri Lanka Women to become the third team to participate in the competition.

It was another comprehensive showing by India as they brushed aside Pakistan and Sri Lanka twice during the league phase before defeating Sri Lanka in the final. 

Interestingly, in the five matches India played throughout the tournament, they lost only six wickets on a whole, which speaks volumes about the team’s domination in the tournament. 

The Women’s Asia Cup 2006 saw India Women pull off a hat-trick of wins with yet another stellar display, overcoming Sri Lanka in the final for the third consecutive time.

Women’s Asia Cup 2008 saw Bangladesh make their first appearance in the competition, but it did not deter India from stamping its authority once again and pocket their fourth title. Once again, India Women faced Sri Lanka Women in the final, winning the one-sided tie by 177 runs.

After a four-year break, the competition returned in 2012 with eight teams competing for the trophy. China, Hong Kong, Nepal, and Thailand made their debuts. It was the first instance where the Women's Asia Cup was held in the T20I format.

Nonetheless, Women in Blue finished the tournament unbeaten, defending 82 runs in the final against Pakistan to lift the trophy for the fifth straight time.

The six-team Women’s Asia Cup 2016 saw India Women extend their title-winning spree to six, ending the campaign unbeaten yet again.

Team India’s winning streak finally came to an end in the previous edition in 2018 when they lost to Bangladesh in the final. 

Heading into the upcoming Women's T20 Asia Cup event to be held in Bangladesh, India Women will be hoping to re-establish themselves as champions of the continental meet yet again and secure their seventh trophy in eight editions. India start their campaign against Sri Lanka on October 1.

Women's Asia Cup winners list

Year Format Winners Runners-up
2004 ODI India Sri Lanka
2005-06 ODI India Sri Lanka
2006 ODI India Sri Lanka
2008 ODI India Sri Lanka
2012 T20I India Pakistan
2016 T20I  India Pakistan
2018 T20I  Bangladesh India


Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sites.

Featured photo: MICHAEL BRADLEY / AFP