Organised by the Chinese Cricket Association, the Women's East Asia Cup T20 2023 will begin on Thursday, May 25.

This 20-over tournament will be held in Hangzhou, China and the three teams participating in this competition are hosts China, Japan, and Hong Kong.

The upcoming Women's East Asia Cup T20 will be the fifth edition of the tournament and it will feature three teams this time around. 

The previous edition in 2022 only witnessed participation from Hong and Japan in a four-match series since both China and Korea couldn’t participate in it due to Covid-19 concerns.

The upcoming edition of Women’s Asia Cup T20 will see all the participating countries square off twice against each other in a double round-robin format with the top two teams at the end of these encounters competing in the final of the tournament.

All the matches in this tournament will be held at the newly developed Pingfeng Campus Cricket Field.

The Pingfeng Campus Cricket Field will be hosting its first international cricket match and this T20 tournament will act as a testing event for the venue ahead of the 2023 Asian Games.

Hong Kong is the defending champions of the tournament after beating Japan 4-0 in the previous edition and they are ranked 22nd in the ICC women’s T20 rankings, making them favourites to emerge triumphant in the upcoming edition as well. The final of the tournament will be held on Sunday, May 28.

Women's East Asia Cup T20 2023 schedule and live India match times 

All timings as per Indian Standard Time (IST)

Thursday, May 25

China vs Hong Kong, 6:00 AM

Hong Kong vs Japan, 1:00 PM

Friday, May 26

China vs Hong Kong, 6:00 AM

Japan vs China, 1:00 PM

Saturday, May 27

Hong Kong vs Japan, 6:00 AM

China vs Japan, 1:00 PM

Sunday, May 28

Final, 7:00 AM

Women's East Asia Cup T20 2023 squads

China: TBC

Hong Kong: Kary Chan ©, Maryam Bibi. Betty Chan, Charlotte Chan, Shing Chan, Amanda Cheung, Hiu Ying Cheung (wk), Tammy Chu, Cindy Ho, Emma Lai, Heiley Liu, Shanzeen Shahzad (wk), Alison Siu, Yee Shan To

Japan: Mai Yanagida ©, Ahilya Chandel, Ayumi Fujikawa, Kiyo Fujikawa, Hinase Goto, Haruna Iwasaki, Elena Kusuda-Nairn, Yukino Nakayama, Akari Nishimura, Erika Oda, Kurumi Ota, Seika Sumi, Nonoha Yasumoto, Minami Yoshioka

Photo credit: Alamy