Defending champions West Zone will lock horns with South Zone in the Duleep Trophy 2023 final at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru starting from Wednesday, July 12. The Duleep Trophy final will start at 9:30 AM IST.

Led by captain Priyank Panchal, West Zone qualified for their second consecutive Duleep Trophy final after overcoming Central Zone on the basis of the first innings lead in their semi-final clash at the KSCA Cricket Ground in Alur.

For the reigning champions, Cheteshwar Pujara scored a brilliant hundred (133) in the second innings of the semi-final, while young left-arm pacer Arzan Nagwaswalla bagged a five-wicket haul to help West Zone take a 92-run lead in the first innings.

On the other hand, South Zone registered a thrilling two-wicket over North Zone in the other semi-final to set up a repeat of last year’s Duleep Trophy final. 

Chasing a target of 215 in the fourth innings, South Zone rode on Mayank Agarwal’s fifty (54) along with contributions from captain Hanuma Vihari (43), wicketkeeper-batter Ricky Bhui (34), Tilak Varma (25) and Sai Kishore’s unbeaten 11-ball 15 to clinch a nail-biting win in the end.

In the bowling department, speedster Vidhwath Kaverappa claimed a fifer in the first innings, while Vijaykumar Vyshak accomplished similar feat in the second innings for South Zone.

West Zone will aim to defend their Duleep Trophy title, having thrashed South Zone by a massive 294 runs in the final last year. They are also the most successful team in the tournament’s history with 19 titles. 

South Zone have won the Duleep Trophy on 13 occasions so far.

Where to watch West Zone vs South Zone Duleep Trophy 2023 final live in India?

Live streaming of the West Zone vs South Zone Duleep Trophy 2023 final will be available on website and the official BCCI app.

There will be no live telecast of the West Zone vs South Zone Duleep Trophy 2023 final on any TV channel in India.

West Zone vs South Zone Duleep Trophy 2023 final squads

West Zone: Priyank Panchal (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Arpit Vasavada, Cheteshwar Pujara, Suryakumar Yadav, Shams Mulani, Yuvrajsinh Dodiya, Harvik Desai (wicketkeeper), Het Patel (wicketkeeper), Sarfaraz Khan (wicketkeeper),  Atit Seth, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Chetan Sakariya, Chintan Gaja, Arzan Nagwaswalla

South Zone: Hanuma Vihari (captain), Mayank Agarwal (vice-captain), Sai Sudharsan, Ricky Bhui, Ravikumar Samarth, Sachin Baby, Darshan Misal, Tilak Varma, Washington Sundar, Srikar Bharat (wicketkeeper), Pradosh Paul (wicketkeeper), Sai Kishore, Vidhwath Kaverappa, Vijaykumar Vyshak, KV Sasikanth

Photo credit: Alamy