The West Indies cricket team is all geared up for the two-match Test series against South Africa starting Thursday. Both the matches will be played at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium.

This will be the first time the two teams will play Test cricket against each other since 2015.

West Indies have won just three of their 28 Tests against the South Africans, the last one in 2007. But the hosts have a chance of winning a couple more as Dean Elgar will be leading an inexperienced South African team.

Dean Elgar took over the role of the Proteas’ full-time captaincy from Quinton de Kock in March. Elgar earlier led South Africa on a couple of occasions in the absence of Faf du Plessis.

For the South Africa cricket team, Prenelan Subrayen and Lizaad Williams have earned their maiden Test call-ups in the 19-man squad while West Indies have included 17-year old Jayden Seales in their Test squad. 

“Any team you come up against, you have to look for where you can exploit them,” said West Indies coach Phil Simmons, referring to the depleted South Africa team. 

“The improvement I would like to see for this series is our ability to take 20 wickets,” Simmons added. “We did in Bangladesh on helpful pitches, and when the pitch was not helpful in Antigua (against Pakistan), we struggled.”

Kraigg Brathwaite will lead the Caribbean side with the likes of Darren Bravo, Jermaine Blackwood, Rahkeem Cornwall, Kyle Mayers, and Nkrumah Bonner in their ranks.

West Indies vs South Africa 2021: Test schedule, fixtures and live India match times

All times are in India Standard Times (IST)




Time (IST)

Thursday, June 10-14

West Indies vs South Africa, 1st Test

Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium

7:30 PM IST

Friday, June 18-22

West Indies vs South Africa, 2nd Test

Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium

7:30 PM IST

West Indies vs South Africa 2021 full Test squads

West Indies Test squad: Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), Jermaine Blackwood (vice-captain), Darren Bravo, Kieran Powell, Nkrumah Bonner, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, Joshua Da Silva (wicket-keeper), Jahmar Hamilton, Shai Hope, Shannon Gabriel, Alzarri Joseph, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales, Jomel Warrican.

South Africa Test squad: Dean Elgar (captain), Temba Bavuma (vice-captain), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Sarel Erwee, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Peterson, Kagiso Rabada, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lizaad Williams, Prenelan Subrayen, Marco Jansen.

Where to watch West Indies vs South Africa Tests live in India?

Live streaming of the West Indies vs South Africa Test series in India will be available on the FanCode App.

The WI vs SA matches will not be telecast in India.

Featured photo : Randy Brooks / AFP