The Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022-23 is scheduled to be played from November 12 to December 2, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced.

Vijay Hazare Trophy is India’s limited-overs domestic cricket tournament played since the 2002-03 season.

As per the new domestic cricketer calendar, the upcoming edition of Vijay Hazare Trophy will feature 38 teams divided into three groups of eight sides and two groups comprising seven teams.

Group A features Saurashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Gujarat, Hyderabad, Chandigarh, Tripura and Manipur, while Group B comprises Rajasthan, Karnataka, Vidarbha, Jharkhand, Delhi, Assam, Meghalaya and Sikkim.

Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Andhra, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Haryana, Bihar and Arunachal are placed in Group C.

Group D includes Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Odisha, Baroda, Jharkhand, Uttarakhand and Nagaland. Meanwhile, Maharashtra, Services, Bengal, Pondicherry, Railways, Mumbai and Mizoram are placed in Group E.

According to the qualification scenarios, group-toppers from each group will directly qualify for the quarter-finals. The second-placed teams from all five groups will be ranked as 6-10 and the top-ranked team from all the remaining teams across groups based on points/wins/NRR will play pre-quarter-finals.

Tamil Nadu are the most successful team in Vijay Hazare Trophy history, having won the title five times in 2002-03, 2004-05, 2008-09, 2009-10 and 2016-17.

Himachal Pradesh will head into the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022-23 season as defending champions, having beaten Tamil Nadu by 11 runs (VJD method) in the last season’s final to clinch their maiden Vijay Hazare Trophy title in Jaipur.

Play fantasy cricket with SportsAdda. Create your team, track your progress and win prizes. Start here.

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates from the world of sports!

Interested in cricket betting? Click here to check out the list of top sit

Featured photo: BCCI