The Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) has launched a 20-over franchise cricket tournament, called the Premier League T20 (PL T20). The competition is scheduled for a window between January and February 2022.

"UAE's Inaugural Premier League T20 will be played across UAE in January and February 2022. The new six-team franchise-style league has been sanctioned by the Minister of Tolerance and Coexistence and Emirates Cricket Board Chairman Sheikh Nahyan bin Mubarak Al Nahyan," the ECB said in a statement.

The PLT20 will have a high ratio of international players, in contrast to other T20 leagues in the world. Furthermore, the six teams are likely to have owners who have a majority stake in Indian T20 League sides. 

“With PLT20, we are delighted that the UAE now has a series of cricket tournaments involving all major formats that will bring together the best of international players alongside national players,” said Dr Tayeb Kamali, the selection committee chairman in the Emirates Cricket Board.

“As the league begins charting new territory across the UAE and the region, we believe PLT20 has created an image that accurately depicts what represents the UAE, the League, what unites us and what is at the core of its vision. We are thrilled for PLT20 to unveil its brand identity.” he further added.

UAE has been a hot venue for a lot of cricket events of late, with the rescheduled Indian T20 League set to begin in September this year. Initially held entirely in India, the BCCI shifted the 2021 Indian T20 league to UAE after the tournament was suspended midway in May due to rising COVID-19 cases in the country. 

Towards the end of the year, the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will begin shortly after the Indian T20 League.

Featured photo : Asif Hassan / AFP