The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has confirmed that it will host the 2021 men's T20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) between October 17 to November 14.

The move comes after the Indian cricket board fears a possible third wave of COVID-19 in the country. The BCCI was already forced to postpone the Indian T20 League 2021 halfway through the season due to the rising coronavirus cases in the country before shifting it to the UAE for completion later this year.

"The BCCI is looking forward to hosting the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 tournament in UAE and Oman," added BCCI President Sourav Ganguly.

"We would have been happier hosting it in India but considering the uncertainty due to the Covid 19 situation and the importance of a world championship, the BCCI will now continue to host this tournament in UAE and Oman. The BCCI is looking forward to creating a spectacle."

ICC T20 World Cup 2021 venues

  1. Dubai International Stadium
  2. Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi
  3. The Sharjah Stadium
  4. The Oman Cricket Academy Ground

Earlier in the month, the International Cricket Council (ICC) had given the BCCI a four-week period to decide whether they could organise the 16-team tournament in India due to the ongoing coronavirus situation.

The International cricket body has already commenced their preparations and logistics for the multi-team tournament to be held in Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah.

"Our priority is to deliver the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 safely, in full and in its current window," said acting ICC CEO Geoff Allardice.

"Whilst we are incredibly disappointed not to be hosting the event in India, the decision gives us the certainty we need to stage the event in a country that is a proven international host of multi-team events in a bio-secure environment.

"We will work closely with the BCCI, the Emirates Cricket Board and Oman Cricket to ensure fans can enjoy a wonderful celebration of cricket.”

ICC states that the first round of the tournament, to be played between eight qualifying teams, has been split between Oman and UAE. Those eight teams are Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Namibia, Oman and Papua New Guinea.

Featured photo: Twitter/SouravGanguly